Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
First pound cake ever, and this recipe made it a total success! Followed the recipe to the letter, except for subing Swans Down cake flour for the AP. Cake was so moist and delicious, I didn't even bother with a glaze. 1hr 20min is a little on the long side, mine burnt a little, but a burnt crust is the mark of a great pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Haven't tasted it yet, but it sure looks ugly! I've done a lot of baking in my life, but this cake totally fell! I followed the directions exactly, but about half an hour after I pulled it out of the oven, the whole middle of the cake caved in on itself and it looks horrible! I'm sorry, this might taste really good, but I don't think I want to serve this to anyone! (And drat the luck, I was supposed to take this over to my boyfriend's house tomorrow!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this cake for the first time last week, i followed the directions exactly as it was called for. It was a hit and my family thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
For an honest review...I have tasted better...the cream cheese pound cake is a better quality cake than this one. I could actually taste the shortening in this cake. The consistency was great. I enjoyed the crunchy top. Not one I will add to my recipe box or make again....Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OsoBlessed

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I didn't have any lemon extract, but it was still amazing. The cake is surprisingly light. We used it for our chocolate fondue and it held together quite well. I used a bundt pan and it is beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Made this for my husband's birthday in a bundt pan. Got many compliments on how moist it was! Followed recipe exactly. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nasreen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Superb! I replaced the lemon extract with almond extract. I kept an eye on the cooking time after reading other reviews. It ended up taking about 1 hr 5 mins in my oven. Cannot wait to dip it into chocolate fondue although it's good enough to eat just by itself. Yummmmm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Super yummy! I omitted the lemon (didn't have any) and was generous with the vanilla. Also, I only baked for about 50-55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was the first time I ever had pound cake and it came out GREAT! Thank you for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Simply Fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States