Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Do you have to add in the lemon extract?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This recipe yields a delicious, moist cake. Everyone loved it. The only thing that I didn't do was sift the dry ingredients. I wonder if that would have given me the fine crumb that I was looking for. Next time I will sift! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Great tasting cake! I used vanilla and almond flavoring because I'm used to that flavor. I think i will bake 10 minutes less because the bottom of the cake was a little too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This was great! I didn't follow the recipe exactly--didn't have 10 minutes to cream the butter and sugar together for starters--used all butter, no shortening since I don't buy shortening, and used 2 loaf pans. I also used about 3 tsp total of extracts-half vanilla and half almond. I will definitely make this again, trying other extracts! I think that the 'cold oven' part is mostly because this cake cooks for over an hour--normally you don't have to preheat unless cooking time is less than an hour. wasn't an issue--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
The ingredients are pretty standard for a pound cake, with the exception of adding shortening in place of a last stick of butter. I don't, however, believe that was in any way responsible for the dryness I experienced. I believe it was due to the unconventional baking method. I did as directed, starting in a cold oven. I set the alarm to sound at one hour, just because I was unfamiliar with baking an item this way, and wanted to check it at that point. Good thing I did! When I pressed the center slightly, it was quite firm. I inserted a toothpick in the middle just to be sure, and it came out completely dry, without even so much as a tiny crumb clinging to it. When I served it at a Fourth of July party, I was grateful I had made 3 fruit compotes, or the embarrassingly dry texture would have had nowhere to hide. I calibrate my oven every few weeks, and the last time was last week; dead-on accurate, so that wasn't the problem. I've worked as a pastry chef, have over 40 years of experience baking, so I'm known for my baked goods. This was not even close to my standards. I can only imagine how dry it would have been had I not yanked it at one hour. It might have fared better at 50 minutes. The taste was that of a generic pound cake, nothing special, but I would not recommend this recipe because there are much better out for flavor and they turn out enjoyably moist. In this case, only the fruit and real whipped cream stood between me and culinary humiliation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is a really good, easy cake to make. I also used 2 separate bread pans, it took a little less time to bake, 1 hr 10 minutes... Vicki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This is a good basic pound cake. I made it for a bake sale and sold nearly all the slices. I omitted the lemon extract...next time I'll double the vanilla extract. Thanks Morgan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Excellent recipe! I got interrupted halfway through making this cake and had to leave the batter in the fridge overnight in a saran wrapped bowl. I worried it would affect it, but it came out just lovely. I used margarine instead of butter and shortening, because that's all I had. Also, I made cupcakes with this instead of loaves. Made about three dozen, and cooked up nicely in about 30-40 minutes, depending on the size of your cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Delish! The time is way too long....55 min is all it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this but like another reviewer I did not have lemon extract, so I just used the vanilla. After it was done and cooled I put on a small amount of vanilla frosting glaze. This cake is moist and yummy. My granddaughter got to take what was left home. Her mother said she didn't want to share it with anyone. So this pound cake was a big hit at my house. The only problem I had was it made to much batter for my bundt pan, so it ran over into my oven. This was my fault I should have relized the pan had to much batter. Next time I will make some cupcakes with the extra batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States