Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was the best pound cake I have ever had. My husband doesn't like pound cake, and he liked this one! I followed the recipe with only one change, adding 2 tbsp. of fresh squeezed lemon juice as I didn't have any lemon extract. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
GREAT RECIPE!!! I baked my cake for exactly one hour...any longer would have definitely caused it to burn. I added extra lemon extract (I LOVE LEMON), a little coconut oil AND topped it off with a homemade lemon glaze and powdered sugar. So impressed by the outcome. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nisha
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I used ghee for shortening. I am baking novice. Gave it only 40 mins for serving of 8. Moist, rich and ghee like. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
My first pound cake ever and it turned out great. I made strawberry shortcakes with it. I didn't have a tube pan so I greased and floured a bundt pan instead, but everything else was exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tywilliams1
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I made this for mother day it taste amazing. I didn't have any shortening so I just used extra butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Amazing recipe! I did use cake flour instead of all purpose, I also omitted the salt and used butter, and I used 2tsp of lemon extract and 1tsp of vanilla. My family could not get enough. There's so many different variations you can make with this recipe. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjayi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I have made many pound cake recipes and this is the best one. The only thing that I changed wad that Instead of affing lemon extract, I added almond extract, it was sooo gooood and moist, the only thing is that it was a little bit too sweet for me so next time I'll make it I will add half of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Great pound cake recipe. It tastes just like you imagine a pound cake should taste. I did cover with foil at 50 minutes to keep top from burning. I also used Pam baking spray instead of wax paper. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I would give this 10 stars if I could. This is the perfect pound cake recipe I've been looking for. Moist but not greasy or dense. The lemon flavor was perfect. I was hesitant to add the lemon but decided to make it exactly per the recipe. Now I'm glad I did. I have the first huge strawberries of the spring season to go with this cake and dessert tonight is going to rock husband's world. From now on this is my go to pound cake recipe. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Wow! We didn't even bother with glaze; this was so good. We did however eat it one day plain and the next with whip cream and fresh blueberries. Good both ways! In fact, this lasted exactly two days at our house! After reading oodles of reviews I made a few changes: I set out milk, butter and eggs to bring up to room temp. Mixed about 5 mins not 10. Also warning - Do not use cooking spray, use shortening and waxed paper for bottoms or it will stick badly. I don't have a tube or bundt pan so I used two loaf pans. Would love to try almond or orange extract next time in one of the pans. Lastly, the tops were very brown; I think I will cover the last 20 mins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States