Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
really good! instead of lemon extract I used orange zest of 1 orange and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carters-mama

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Everyone in this family LOVES this pound cake! I make a gluten/dairy-free version but it is delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cairo, New York, USA
Living In: Westerlo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This turned out well. I baked it in a greased and floured bundt cake pan for about 70 minutes. I specifically went to the store before making this just to get the lemon extract (which isn't cheap either!). If I made this again, I wouldn't put lemon extract in. For me personally it was too much. I'd either double the vanilla or try alittle almond extract. I made sugared strawberries and whipped cream for a shortcake dessert on mothers day. It was yummy! I personally think it would taste better minus the lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This is a very good pound cake. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I made this for Easter and have to say it was a hit with the family! The only change I made was to increase the sugar to 3 cups... Will make this again and try different extracts:) it had an amazing crust and the crumb was perfect! I made the vanilla glaze on this site to top it... Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe! I halved the recipe and made it in a 9x5 loaf pan. It also only needed to bake for an hour. Other than that I made it according to the recipe, and it turned out fantastic. Like others have said, the texture is light and airy like a commercial cake. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Best, most moist pound cake I've ever had. Crust was beautifully crunchy, middle was very light and perfect lemon/vanilla flavor. Be sure to mix the cream as long as it says; incorporating air is key to keeping the cake moist. I didn't use parchment/wax paper, and I used a bundt pan. I also didn't need the full 1 hour 20 minutes (cooking at ~4800 ft altitude). I couldn't wait the full 3 hours of cooling; I had my first piece an hour after it came out of the oven. Man, oh man, was it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Kirkby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
mmm! made dairy-free by using original almond milk. also 2 tsp vanilla and skipped the lemon. poured it into 2 loaf pans - created 2 heavenly loaves in just over an hour. thanks morgan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I made this pound cake for my family and it was so moist and delicious. You really do have to beat the mixture for about 10 minutes. I would make this cake again and have already given this recipe out! If I were to change anything I might add a bit more lemon because I'm a fan of lemon flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I've never made a pound cake before but was looking for something creative to bring to work and the pound cake fit the bill (using it in a fruit trifle). I followed the instructions and cooked it for 70 min instead of 80 - it was perfect. I substituted cherry extract for the lemon and added finely chopped glace cherries - yummy! I'm already planning the next one, with orange extract and orange peel, with an orange glaze. I never knew pound cake was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEVANG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States