Country Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I used red wine instead of the water when simmering the roast. Everything else is fine. I didn't have any turnips but everything came out great. I added garlic powder to the salt and pepper when seasoning the roast then I dredged it in flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
for health we can not use a chuck roast, but it was equally good with a sirloin roast (on sale of course)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe was so easy and turned out great. I am not a great cook, by any means, so I have to look for recipes that I think I can handle and that my family will like. I made this and it turned out moist, tender and flavorful. My husband told me to save this recipe because it was one of his favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
So yummy. My husband gave rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I was disappointed with the results. The roast was a little tough and not really what I wanted it to look like when done. Not sure I understood the difference between simmering and the admonition not to "boil" the roast. Simmering is simply a low boil and I could not adjust my gas flame any lower. I really wanted a recipe that used the oven rather than the stovetop. it was ok, we ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Good basic recipe. I brown a chuck roast in olive oil and follow the recipe adding vegetables that are in season. I also replace the water with low-sodium chicken or beef broth. I have added turnips, parsnips, brussel sprouts, cabbage and varied the spices with tarragon, rosemary, ginger, cinnamon, whole peppercorns, garlic (crushed cloves or celery powder), and bay leaves depending on these changes. I always include, if available, the basic three of Mediterranean cooking onions, carrots and celery and modify from there. Another variation is to add a can of tomato paste for a red roast. The possibilities are endless but this recipe provides a good basis for all of my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Wow, who'd uh thunk turnips would be so delicious. This recipe is perfect, and gets the meat really tender. Great freezer meal, stores very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This is the best way to fix a roast. When using the stovetop you can keep an eye on the the temperature and turn the meat. I used a smaller roast, but kept the same amount of flour and seasonings. It was very flavorful- even the potatoes and carrots had enough salt content. And with plenty of flour already in the pan, I didn't have to make a gravy- it already made it's own. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
dry, not tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Good, but very bland. The meat and veggies were delicious, but gravy really had no flavor. I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States