Country Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very close to a recipe I grew up with. This was one of my favorites when I was younger, and I would request it whenever my birthday rolled around. Made it myself for the first time tonight, following my mom's recipe, and it turned out really good, but seemed to be missing something. Her recipe didn't call for onion soup mix, but that sounds like it'd be worth trying next time. Great comfort food, this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is fairly similar to one that has been in our family for a few generations. A casserole dish works well if you do not have a DEEP DISH pie pan (a regular pie pan is too small). We skip the onion soup mix. As the recipe says, use LEAN ground beef, not the 80-85% type. We also add in 1 cup of mixed veggies into the beef mixture. Otherwise, everything else is the same and it is always enjoyed by old and young alike. Serve with warm buttermilk biscuits and butter and you have a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charles B. Simpson
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
The only thing I can say is that this recipe is a 5 Star recipe, as written, what some are missing is that this makes a great leftover and only need to be re- heated in the microwave oven for a second meal. It must be made with lean ground beef or it will be very wet. I tried higher fat content ground beef and the recipe does not work well. There are few recipes my wife want as left overs and this is one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles B. Simpson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was mushy, wet,too oniony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Al Cush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Whole family loved it! substituted 1 1/2 cup of spaghetti sauce for the 1 1/2 tomato sauce. And it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
My whole family loved this pie. Per other reviews I doubled the spices. I didn't have any dried bread crumbs so I used crushed saltine crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I didn't think this was anything spectacular. I would use this for an occasional weeknight meal because it is easy, can be thrown together quickly and quite cheap to make. Everything cooked just right in my oven. I put a solid tsp of all three herbs into the rice mixture, I think the flavor would have been lacking if I hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Tasted good, but the direction should say to put it in a deep dish pie pan. The rice was heaping over so when I put the cheese on for the last 10 minutes, some of it melted off the top - to the bottom of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shony Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I thought this recipe was very good. I added some extra italian spices, and baked it in a 9x13 dish instead of a pie pan. It turned out great, and cooked through in the time specified in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
First of all, I FOLLOWED THE DIRECTIONS!! I had to cook it twice as long and the texture was not good at all to say the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDCH72

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States