Country Morning Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Made it for Joan Gustin- we both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I made this yesterday, and it's all gone! My children loved it, in fact we all did! Great recipe, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watford, Hertfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I made this today and followed the recipe exactly and can't say enough about how excellent it is. Served to a group al ladies and was asked for the recipe. Can't beat the flavor !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Made this yesterday and it is all gone-the only change I made was to use 1/3 c of mini chocolate chips instead of raisins. This recipe fits in an 8 inch round pan, but just barely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I too took the advice of previous reviewers and used mixed berries instead of raisins. Blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries! But it was fabulous! But be warned, it doesn't make very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
It went together quickly, but this batter was very thick and sticky. Nearly impossible to "spread" over a floured pan. Also wouldn't spread over the sugared middle layer--had to drop dollops onto middle layer and call it good. If I ever made it again, I'd add a little milk to thin the batter down a little. Really hard to tell when it was done too, because the sugar topping forms a crisp, crusty layer that pretty much cleans off the toothpick as you pull it out. I kept it in for an extra 5 minutes, and it was still gooey in the middle. Tasted OK, but I really don't get what all the raves are about. I've tried lots of better coffee cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This recipe was great!! We went ahead with the raisins and not being much of a raisin family, it still came out well. My family loved it. I'm not exactly sure how the recipe came out thick or dry for some people. The batter was very creamy and spread on easily. After it came out it was light and moist! Very good - I plan on making another batch (it was super easy to whip up) to bring to a friend. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Yummy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I will make this again, and I will make a double batch. The only thing I did differently was to use yogurt cheese instead of sour cream. The cake was moist and not too crumbly, with a light crustiness on top. The filling was just gooey enough. I did have difficulty spreading the batter, just used my fingers to spread the top layer almost to the edges. Would be nice to have a bit more batter. We ate it warm from the oven, and it was gone in 15 minutes. My kids love it, which is an accomplishment. This is a keeper, not the traditional boring coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is a really good cake. I originally made it to use up some sour cream and raisins I had left over from other things but have made it 3 times since then because my family keeps requesting it. I found the raisins to be a good addition. They really add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States