Country Morning Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I was looking for a coffeecake type recipe using blueberries to bring to Sunday Morning Coffe Hour at our Church and found Country Morning Cake. I substituted fresh blueberries for the raisins and it turned out GREAT! I received many compliments and was asked twice for the recipe. Be aware though that the dough is more like a sugar cookie rather than a cake batter. Don't let this bother you it was very moist. Even my kids liked it and asked if I could make another one tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
End result was good, but was very nervous during prep. Batter was very thick, and hard to spread. Also, tried to use 9 inch pan--will use 8 inch next time. 9 inch pan was so big that I only made one layer of the cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
Loved this, loved this, loved this!!! I omitted the raisins and added some chopped walnuts to the topping. Yummy. It is very moist and got rave reviews. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
So easy and really good!! I made it with chocolate chips instead of raisins (I didn't have any) and it was GREAT! I've made it three times in 2 days because everyone loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
I really didn't like the raisins, so I substituted sliced peaches and raspberries. My family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was easy and OK, but honestly, there are other coffee cakes that I like better. I baked this in an 8" spring form pan, there didn't seem to be much batter, and as a result, the cake didn't have much height. I did have a few cherry craisins left, so I mixed them in with the raisins. If I were to make this again, I think I'd double the recipe (but probably not the sugar topping and the raisins) and cook it in a 9" spring form pan just to get more "cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
My family loves this cake. My 11 year old son makes it by himself. We omit raisins and if no sour cream on hand I have used yougurt with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
I the husband, found the recipe, had my wife make it, and just loved it..She has made it three times in two weeks, for ourselves, and friends...Every one loved it and wanted the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Made this yesterday and it is all gone-the only change I made was to use 1/3 c of mini chocolate chips instead of raisins. This recipe fits in an 8 inch round pan, but just barely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
It went together quickly, but this batter was very thick and sticky. Nearly impossible to "spread" over a floured pan. Also wouldn't spread over the sugared middle layer--had to drop dollops onto middle layer and call it good. If I ever made it again, I'd add a little milk to thin the batter down a little. Really hard to tell when it was done too, because the sugar topping forms a crisp, crusty layer that pretty much cleans off the toothpick as you pull it out. I kept it in for an extra 5 minutes, and it was still gooey in the middle. Tasted OK, but I really don't get what all the raves are about. I've tried lots of better coffee cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States