Country Manor Breakfast Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Alot of work, though I opted to make a Bisquick pie crust instead. It was good, but we prefer a more simple quiche-type pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made this for mothers day brunch and WOW, I wish I had found this recipe sooner! I added a bit more bacon and ham and a deep 9 inch pie plate since I did not have a 10. I sauteed the green onion with the regular onion for the filling (though that was by sheer accident so I sprinkled a lot less green onion on top). I also reduced the cream by 1/4 cup per quiche based on a review. I did find this need to cook and extra 15 minutes. The fresh thyme and basil just send this over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe. It did take a while (letting the dough for the crust chill 30 min, pre-baking the crust which took forever for some reason, and finally baking it. But it is DELICIOUS!!! I made it for dinner & my husband and I really enjoyed it. I divided it by 4 to fit into a 7" pie pan and it was a little too much filling but everything else worked great. I will definitely make this again on an evening when I have a little more time to prepare dinner. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Forgot to add the cheese so maybe this is not a real review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Made this this morning for church. Read the reviews first, so I knew it would take a little longer than 40 minutes to cook. Except for the crust, I followed the directions exactly. It got nothing but raves. It IS a lot of work, but it is worth it. It is very rich so, if you like you can use fat free half and half instead of heavy cream. Another reviewer ;halved the cheese, and still another made it crustless. There are ways to cut the calories. Read your reviews. I love basil. Wonderful, wonderful dish. Thank you bettina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was maybe the best quiche ever! Baked it in two deep dish pie plates rather than tart pans. Then I used 10 eggs and 2% milk, light cream cheese (6 oz) & 2% milk rather than the cream / DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
YUM! I used a store bought crust to save time. I substituted 1 cup condensed milk for the heavy cream, and 1 t. dried Herbes de Provence (always in my pantry) in place of the fresh basil and thyme, and replaced the monterey jack with emmental cheese (aged variety of swiss). Everyone at my mom's coffee morning wanted the recipe. Thanks for sharing; it's much better than the basic quiche recipe I usually make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi Leitzell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ULTRAGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This breakfast tart was not difficult to make, and it was an elegant and sophisticated change from the usual breakfast egg dishes. The cream cheese added richness and the fresh herbs and almonds were the perfect finishing touches. I used more ham since I omitted the bacon - I was serving candied bacon as a side. I will increase the amount of nutmeg next time - maybe doubling it, since I couldn't detect the nutmeg flavor in the end. I made this for a brunch and the adults and even an 11 year old boy loved it. I am adding this to my "one day when I have a B and B" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
buy pie crusts half and make just one white cheese fine... add otro veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I made this and brought it to work, everyone loved it.It does take alittle prep time though, but worth it.I didn't have a 10 inch pan, so I used my 9inch deep dish, it just took alittle longer, approx 15 more minutes to cook.All the flavors blend really nice, not to bland or spicy...I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Baxley, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States