Country House Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
A little involved with such a list of ingredients but if you need a lot of fudge (for the holidays, for instance), this is a good one. Getting even amounts in the two pans turned out to be my biggest challenge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Absolutely YUMMY!!! BEST & EASIEST FUDGE I HAVE EVER MADE. Have been told it is the best fudge I have ever tasted by several people. Plan to sell @ work this year for Christmas Money. THANKS FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ellis Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made this fudge and took it to both my work places and took some to my family. It was such a hit! My aunt told me fudge was now my holiday responsibility and I even got a marriage proposal from one of my co-workers because of this recipe! It was really simple and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made this along with 2 other fudge recipes from this site. I was really excited for this recipe, but wasn't impressed. It is okay. Just not to die for - my grocery bill after buying everything to make this fudge did almost make me die however! ;-) I followed this recipe exactly - the directions are a little vague - but I figured it out. I wasn't sure what type of candy bar this was asking for - so I used hershey's milk chocolate. This does make a TON - I'm giving as gifts thankfully because I don't like it enough to eat it all!! By the way - the caramel peanut fudge from this site was my FAVORITE and I am sad to give it away! UPDATE: I made this in one 9x13 pan and it was very thick - hard to cut - but worst of all it crumbled and wasn't very pretty to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made this recipe exact with no substitutions or changes. I did not yield the same quantity. I used one 9x13 pan with the fudge about 1 inch in height. Very tasty but it did crumble a bit when I cut them. I will probably not make these again and try a different recipe next year for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This fudge flopped on me! The sugar crystalized and it was ruined. I followed everything on the directions perfectly, but it just didn't seem to work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This fudge is fantastic! Everyone here at Christmas said it was the best fudge they had ever ate. I'm a bit confused though. I followed the recipe as stated, but it only made one 9x13 pan. I had to have done something wrong, but for the life of me I can't figure out what. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I was warned not to lose it or else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was the Best!! Two pans one with foil and one plastic wrap. The foil looked dryed out but tasted great and the plastic had the great finished shine that said eat me. Used marshmallows and didn't have candy bar, so I used Ghirardelli semi-sweet chips and the Toll House chips and one 4 oz box of German chocolate. Thats alot of chocolate, but well worth every bite of it. People are asking if this is a family recipe or could they get it from me. Thanks for this fudge recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My mom has made this fudge at Christmas for 30+ years. This year I was planning to make it and was browsing recipes for comparison. I was so suprised to find this recipe--the exact same one she gave me years ago! It's wonderful and brings back so many childhood memories. I remember she always used whole walnuts. She also put the whole recipe into one 9x13" pan so it was very thick. She would line the pan with buttered foil, letting it hang over the edges of the pan, and lift the fudge out when it was cool and cut it into long bars. She wrapped the bars and kept them in the refrigerator for the whole holiday season, taking one out at a time to slice thinly for the cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This stuff is incredibly rich! I used only one pan because I was doing a lot of baking and was running out of pans... it came out really thick, but I will probably cut the pieces in half once I put them out at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States