Country House Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
For all those who think part of the recipe is missing, its not. You add the milk and sugar mixture to the chocolate in the bowl and beat it. Its just like every other fudge recipe. I like the different types of chocolate in this recipe. Be sure to use the highest quality chocolate you can afford.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTA LYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My mom has made this fudge at Christmas for 30+ years. This year I was planning to make it and was browsing recipes for comparison. I was so suprised to find this recipe--the exact same one she gave me years ago! It's wonderful and brings back so many childhood memories. I remember she always used whole walnuts. She also put the whole recipe into one 9x13" pan so it was very thick. She would line the pan with buttered foil, letting it hang over the edges of the pan, and lift the fudge out when it was cool and cut it into long bars. She wrapped the bars and kept them in the refrigerator for the whole holiday season, taking one out at a time to slice thinly for the cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
There is something missing in the instructions...After placing chocolate chips and bars in a bowl and scooping marshmallow creme into it, it is never mentioned what to do with it! Please someone check the directions and make appropriate corrections.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
Great fudge! The kids wouldn't leave it alone. I made the mistake of cooking the milk & sugar in a large pot instead of a medium one. When the fudge hardened it was too dry. I just crumbled the fudge into a glass bowl, added a little milk and heated it in the microwave until it melted. Then I repoured it into my molds and it turned out beautifully. Using quality chocolated really does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
my husband made a lot of fudge over the last 20 years. Three years ago, he found this one, and it is the only one we make now. Amazing rich, chocolately taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Beckham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I've never made fudge before, and I think this was a good recipe to start with. It was easy and turned out great. It made a lot more fudge than I thought it was going to be, but maybe that's because I didn't know what to expect. Instead of evaporated milk, I just used some 2% and thought it tasted just as great. It was melt in my mouth good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bertrand, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I bake a lot, but have never made fudge before now. This recipe was easy and the fudge turned out great. My husband brought it to work with him (for 11 of his co-workers) and he said 3 or 4 of them told him it was the best fudge they had tasted. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
I've made this recipe several times now, and everyone who has gotten some of the fudge rave about it and ask for the recipe! It's so easy to make and always comes out great. It's a good thing that it makes as much as it does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This is the best fudge recipe I've ever used. It was very smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
This recipe called for a lot of different chocolate that I thought sounded wonderful. I found out that it was exspensive and a little dry. The recipe left out instructions which made it a guessing game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States