Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Very good - would give it 5 stars but I did make some alterations. First, I used about 1 1/2 cups of croutons, 5 eggs and 1 cup of milk. Otherwise, the casserole would have been very flat in an 8x8 dish. I used crumbled bacon instead of ham, and with the butter and cheese, the casserole was a bit greasy so next time I would cut down on the butter a bit. Would also possibly add some diced onions for extra flavor. Overall, a very easy and tasty recipe. WILL make again! ***UPDATE***Made again without butter (coated croutons with butter flavored cooking spray). Tasted just as good but a lot less greasy. Also rolled the crumbled bacon in paper towel to remove some grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
611 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Very YUMMY! My fiance and I have made it 3 times already since discovering it! I've even tried baking it immediately after preparing it, as opposed to letting it sit for a while, and it turned out just as good. I've also used ripped up hamburger bun pieces instead of croutons and that worked fine too. I now cut down on the amount of butter as previous reviewers suggested and the casserole is much less greasy. Oh yes, I also use 5 eggs and a tad more milk to fill the pan a bit more, but the casserole fluffs up a bit while baking. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annareisel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
YUM!!!!! This is a great and easy recipe to make for breakfast! I did add 6 eggs insted of 4 and used 1 cup of milk instead of 3/4 to avoid any "burning" of the croutons. I have made this three times now and each time I try something new..I'll add green and red bell peppers and onions and the next I added fresh sliced mushrooms. Very Tasty! In fact, I plan to double the recipe and make for the upcoming Easter holiday. Thank you Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
I made this Christmas morning. Did not have croutons so I put some bread in the oven and toasted it and then cubed it and used that. Delicious! This recipe is definitely a keeper, and one that I'll use again and again. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Ann Ineson Kidd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was excellent, wonderful flavor. I cooked it in a loaf pan and had no trouble with too dry. The boyfriend actually commented on how tasty it was, and he's not into eggs! I made it as stated, except had no croutons so I just cut up a piece of toast. Nommy! UPDATE: This time I am trying to clean out the fridge, so I added some cottage cheese, half a green pepper, a chopped roma tomato, a little spinach and some basil. Used toast again and had white cheddar on hand. Popped it in the fridge about 4 pm and threw it in the oven at 6:45. Took about an hour to cook with all the extra stuff-and I had to dump out a LOT of extra grease-but turned out great! Much richer with the cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
I have tried a dozen breakfast casseroles in the last month and this is just the one I was looking for. Taste Great! Simple! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This turned out GREAT! As most of us do - I try to cut back here and there. Where it called for butter I used "I cant believe its not butter" and I made my own croutons (baked). I heard its healthier to do so (store bought ones are fried. I used low fat cheese & milk! YOU WOULD NEVER KNOW! Great recipe..... Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
So easy and great tasting. The bonus for me is that this is a breakfast casserole dish feeding four, as opposed to 40. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving brunch. It was very simple and delicious. I scaled it to 12 servings and used a little more croutons that called for because I used chorizo sausage instead of ham. Chorizo is very greasy! I also made my own croutons from fresh mini loaves (white & wheat). Everyone loved the casserole, even the kids! I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This was a very good breakfast and i loved the fact you can make it the night before. I agree with the other users that you should not use so much butter and i think I might even try bacon bits the ham seemed to be a bit much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States