Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
Mine came out dry and almost burnt...I even had to put foil over it for the last 10 minutes for fear of a blackened top. An 8x8 baking dish was much to big for this recipe. I wish I'd tried it in a 1 1/2 qt dish, but I won't be making it again to see if it's any better. Sorry. :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
I made this Christmas morning. Did not have croutons so I put some bread in the oven and toasted it and then cubed it and used that. Delicious! This recipe is definitely a keeper, and one that I'll use again and again. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Ann Ineson Kidd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
YUM!!!!! This is a great and easy recipe to make for breakfast! I did add 6 eggs insted of 4 and used 1 cup of milk instead of 3/4 to avoid any "burning" of the croutons. I have made this three times now and each time I try something new..I'll add green and red bell peppers and onions and the next I added fresh sliced mushrooms. Very Tasty! In fact, I plan to double the recipe and make for the upcoming Easter holiday. Thank you Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving brunch. It was very simple and delicious. I scaled it to 12 servings and used a little more croutons that called for because I used chorizo sausage instead of ham. Chorizo is very greasy! I also made my own croutons from fresh mini loaves (white & wheat). Everyone loved the casserole, even the kids! I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This was easy. I thought the butter made it a little greasy.....too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
I have tried a dozen breakfast casseroles in the last month and this is just the one I was looking for. Taste Great! Simple! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Very good - would give it 5 stars but I did make some alterations. First, I used about 1 1/2 cups of croutons, 5 eggs and 1 cup of milk. Otherwise, the casserole would have been very flat in an 8x8 dish. I used crumbled bacon instead of ham, and with the butter and cheese, the casserole was a bit greasy so next time I would cut down on the butter a bit. Would also possibly add some diced onions for extra flavor. Overall, a very easy and tasty recipe. WILL make again! ***UPDATE***Made again without butter (coated croutons with butter flavored cooking spray). Tasted just as good but a lot less greasy. Also rolled the crumbled bacon in paper towel to remove some grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
611 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
is hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Very YUMMY! My fiance and I have made it 3 times already since discovering it! I've even tried baking it immediately after preparing it, as opposed to letting it sit for a while, and it turned out just as good. I've also used ripped up hamburger bun pieces instead of croutons and that worked fine too. I now cut down on the amount of butter as previous reviewers suggested and the casserole is much less greasy. Oh yes, I also use 5 eggs and a tad more milk to fill the pan a bit more, but the casserole fluffs up a bit while baking. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annareisel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This was a very good breakfast and i loved the fact you can make it the night before. I agree with the other users that you should not use so much butter and i think I might even try bacon bits the ham seemed to be a bit much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States