Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe is surely a keeper! From a health angle I would use Pam (or equivalent) spray, or at least switch to the unsalted variety of butter. Parmesan cheese, in addition to being better tasting, seems to offer less calories than cheddar. Also, I suggest your chunk of refrigerated cooked ham be boiled a bit (~15 min) to bleed off its excess salt content, before slicing for use. Ditto for tasty variants, e.g., exotic sausages like merguez or chorizo, to vastly reduce their excess fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Big hit with my family. Easy and cheesy. I imagine very high in fat therefore it's one of those recipes for special occasions. company or chirstmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Delicious! Since I am counting calories, I omitted the butter altogether (per others' reviews that it was too greasy) and added a thawed/drained box of chopped broccoli between the cheese and ham layers. I made it for breakfast with a group of friends and everyone loved it! It was so easy and I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
i changed most of the recipe I made a sweet casserol wherein i blended banana, cottage cheese and yogurt as I was out of milk with 1 egg. (infact this made it nice and rich). I used olive oil, cheese(Parmasean-grated) and raisins and nuts and sprinkled a pinh of brown sugar for the taste. I added crutons and small pieces of ham..amd cooked for 15 mins each ramkin at 435 degrees. Tasted yummy..especially my picky daughter ate it so tells me it must be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
What ever you do, don't omit the butter and use something terrible like Smart Balance, which is just colored water! I used potatoes instead of croutons and omitted the mustard since I didn't have it on hand. This turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was pretty good! I read lots of reviews, and decided to skip the butter. I used Smart Balance spray on my baking dish, and there was no sticking. I suspect that this recipe will accept modifications such as peppers, different meat, spice, etc. fairly well. I will be making this one again . . . thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
The first time I have ever eaten a breakfast casserole, so I have no bench mark to measure this against, but we really did enjoy it. I did make this slightly different, I used seasoned croutons and sprayed them with pam spray. I topped with cheese, diced onion and mushroom and then finished off with the milk and egg mixture, I omitted the mustard (as I knew my boys would not like it) and seasoned with plenty of salt and pepper. Finished off with ham and another sprinkling of cheese. I did bake for an extra 15 minutes than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was fantastic! A great way to use up leftover Easter ham. I used whole-wheat toast instead of croutons, didn't use any mustard, mixed in about 1/2 teaspoon of garlic with the ham before putting the ham in, used a little less cheese, and didn't wait overnight. Between the two of us we ate the whole thing in one sitting. Totally delicious and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Delicious!! I didn't have croutons, so I tore up bread that was in the freezer, and that worked just fine. I also added black olives, diced onions, and salt and pepper to the egg mixture, and everything turned out GREAT. I love this recipe because it's so flexible based on what you have in the refrigerator, but it brings scrambled eggs up to a whole new level! Highly recommended, and this will become a new regular-breakfast meal for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Good basic recipe. You can change ingredients liberally. Next time I am going to try a southwestern/mex mix. Chorizo, onions and maybe some jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cicero, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States