Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is basically the 'Christmas morning wife saver ' in the best of bridge. Have made it for years. The one in the Best of Bridge is better. This is a very small portioned recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a great receipe. I made it again and added leftover salmon in place of the ham and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Made this morning with Canadian bacon and reduced fat cheddar and sprayed with cooking spray to omit the butter. I also used egg beaters and it was delicious. Simple basic recipe that you can tweak to your own tastes/dieteary restrictions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe is surely a keeper! From a health angle I would use Pam (or equivalent) spray, or at least switch to the unsalted variety of butter. Parmesan cheese, in addition to being better tasting, seems to offer less calories than cheddar. Also, I suggest your chunk of refrigerated cooked ham be boiled a bit (~15 min) to bleed off its excess salt content, before slicing for use. Ditto for tasty variants, e.g., exotic sausages like merguez or chorizo, to vastly reduce their excess fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Big hit with my family. Easy and cheesy. I imagine very high in fat therefore it's one of those recipes for special occasions. company or chirstmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Delicious! Since I am counting calories, I omitted the butter altogether (per others' reviews that it was too greasy) and added a thawed/drained box of chopped broccoli between the cheese and ham layers. I made it for breakfast with a group of friends and everyone loved it! It was so easy and I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
i changed most of the recipe I made a sweet casserol wherein i blended banana, cottage cheese and yogurt as I was out of milk with 1 egg. (infact this made it nice and rich). I used olive oil, cheese(Parmasean-grated) and raisins and nuts and sprinkled a pinh of brown sugar for the taste. I added crutons and small pieces of ham..amd cooked for 15 mins each ramkin at 435 degrees. Tasted yummy..especially my picky daughter ate it so tells me it must be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
What ever you do, don't omit the butter and use something terrible like Smart Balance, which is just colored water! I used potatoes instead of croutons and omitted the mustard since I didn't have it on hand. This turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was pretty good! I read lots of reviews, and decided to skip the butter. I used Smart Balance spray on my baking dish, and there was no sticking. I suspect that this recipe will accept modifications such as peppers, different meat, spice, etc. fairly well. I will be making this one again . . . thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
The first time I have ever eaten a breakfast casserole, so I have no bench mark to measure this against, but we really did enjoy it. I did make this slightly different, I used seasoned croutons and sprayed them with pam spray. I topped with cheese, diced onion and mushroom and then finished off with the milk and egg mixture, I omitted the mustard (as I knew my boys would not like it) and seasoned with plenty of salt and pepper. Finished off with ham and another sprinkling of cheese. I did bake for an extra 15 minutes than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States