Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
so easy !!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was average for me. I think it does need more eggs and some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I really liked this recipe even though I made changes. I feel okay rating it even with the changes because it's one of those recipes that's easily modified to suit different tastes. Based on other reviews, here's what I did. I sprayed the dish with butter-flavored Pam instead of using butter. I used a whole bag (about 1 1/2 cups) of Texas Toast Garlic and Butter croutons, which added a great flavor. I used 5 eggs, but kept the milk at 3/4 cup. I also left out the mustard, used bacon bits instead of ham, and put the cheese on top with 2-3 minutes of cooking time left. For anyone wanting to use bacon bits instead of ham, I cooked up 8 strips of bacon (1/2 a package), and that seemed just right for us. Oh, I also didn't let it soak overnight. I just let it soak while I cooked and crumbled the bacon, and it turned out fine. Everyone gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I loved, loved this.... it was easy and quick; I was wondering what to do with some left over ham; I had them calculate the recipe down to 2 servings and used herb & garlic croutons also put some leftover broccoli on the top and baked it in a loaf pan, I let the mixture sit until the oven was heated (not over night) as I wanted it for dinner, I only cooked it 30 minutes as it was a smaller quantity of eggs (2); although I thought it was too greasy next time I'll use less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I have made this recipe for years, so I am not surprised to see it posted here. It is our Christmas morning breakfast. I particularly love it because I prepare it the night before. So simple, and you can add whatever other ingredients you love. I have even made it with crabmeat instead of the bacon or sausage. I always add onion powder and garlic powder to the egg mixture for more flavor. It is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
The taste is excellent and we can't wait to try other varieties. Like many of the readers we did not let the dish sit overnight. It turned out fine. However, while we like butter, it amazed me how uch grease bubbled out of this. better to cut back the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Ostroff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgeley, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I hate to say anything negative but I have to put my 2 cents worth into this. The croutons did nothing for this recipe. I have made a 'great' breakfast casserole for fellow workers, but this would not have been it. I have eaten some sorry egg casseroles at B & B's and this was to me like some of them, unimpressive. Sorry, but I won't make this one again. Some people are easier to please than me. I am a 'breakfast person'. My husband wasn't impressed either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is basically the 'Christmas morning wife saver ' in the best of bridge. Have made it for years. The one in the Best of Bridge is better. This is a very small portioned recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a great receipe. I made it again and added leftover salmon in place of the ham and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Made this morning with Canadian bacon and reduced fat cheddar and sprayed with cooking spray to omit the butter. I also used egg beaters and it was delicious. Simple basic recipe that you can tweak to your own tastes/dieteary restrictions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States