Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
Mine came out dry and almost burnt...I even had to put foil over it for the last 10 minutes for fear of a blackened top. An 8x8 baking dish was much to big for this recipe. I wish I'd tried it in a 1 1/2 qt dish, but I won't be making it again to see if it's any better. Sorry. :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
I made this Christmas morning. Did not have croutons so I put some bread in the oven and toasted it and then cubed it and used that. Delicious! This recipe is definitely a keeper, and one that I'll use again and again. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Ann Ineson Kidd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
YUM!!!!! This is a great and easy recipe to make for breakfast! I did add 6 eggs insted of 4 and used 1 cup of milk instead of 3/4 to avoid any "burning" of the croutons. I have made this three times now and each time I try something new..I'll add green and red bell peppers and onions and the next I added fresh sliced mushrooms. Very Tasty! In fact, I plan to double the recipe and make for the upcoming Easter holiday. Thank you Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving brunch. It was very simple and delicious. I scaled it to 12 servings and used a little more croutons that called for because I used chorizo sausage instead of ham. Chorizo is very greasy! I also made my own croutons from fresh mini loaves (white & wheat). Everyone loved the casserole, even the kids! I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This was easy. I thought the butter made it a little greasy.....too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
I have tried a dozen breakfast casseroles in the last month and this is just the one I was looking for. Taste Great! Simple! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Very good - would give it 5 stars but I did make some alterations. First, I used about 1 1/2 cups of croutons, 5 eggs and 1 cup of milk. Otherwise, the casserole would have been very flat in an 8x8 dish. I used crumbled bacon instead of ham, and with the butter and cheese, the casserole was a bit greasy so next time I would cut down on the butter a bit. Would also possibly add some diced onions for extra flavor. Overall, a very easy and tasty recipe. WILL make again! ***UPDATE***Made again without butter (coated croutons with butter flavored cooking spray). Tasted just as good but a lot less greasy. Also rolled the crumbled bacon in paper towel to remove some grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
615 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
is hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Very YUMMY! My fiance and I have made it 3 times already since discovering it! I've even tried baking it immediately after preparing it, as opposed to letting it sit for a while, and it turned out just as good. I've also used ripped up hamburger bun pieces instead of croutons and that worked fine too. I now cut down on the amount of butter as previous reviewers suggested and the casserole is much less greasy. Oh yes, I also use 5 eggs and a tad more milk to fill the pan a bit more, but the casserole fluffs up a bit while baking. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annareisel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This was a very good breakfast and i loved the fact you can make it the night before. I agree with the other users that you should not use so much butter and i think I might even try bacon bits the ham seemed to be a bit much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States