Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I have made this recipe for years, so I am not surprised to see it posted here. It is our Christmas morning breakfast. I particularly love it because I prepare it the night before. So simple, and you can add whatever other ingredients you love. I have even made it with crabmeat instead of the bacon or sausage. I always add onion powder and garlic powder to the egg mixture for more flavor. It is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
The taste is excellent and we can't wait to try other varieties. Like many of the readers we did not let the dish sit overnight. It turned out fine. However, while we like butter, it amazed me how uch grease bubbled out of this. better to cut back the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Ostroff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgeley, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I hate to say anything negative but I have to put my 2 cents worth into this. The croutons did nothing for this recipe. I have made a 'great' breakfast casserole for fellow workers, but this would not have been it. I have eaten some sorry egg casseroles at B & B's and this was to me like some of them, unimpressive. Sorry, but I won't make this one again. Some people are easier to please than me. I am a 'breakfast person'. My husband wasn't impressed either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is basically the 'Christmas morning wife saver ' in the best of bridge. Have made it for years. The one in the Best of Bridge is better. This is a very small portioned recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a great receipe. I made it again and added leftover salmon in place of the ham and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Made this morning with Canadian bacon and reduced fat cheddar and sprayed with cooking spray to omit the butter. I also used egg beaters and it was delicious. Simple basic recipe that you can tweak to your own tastes/dieteary restrictions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe is surely a keeper! From a health angle I would use Pam (or equivalent) spray, or at least switch to the unsalted variety of butter. Parmesan cheese, in addition to being better tasting, seems to offer less calories than cheddar. Also, I suggest your chunk of refrigerated cooked ham be boiled a bit (~15 min) to bleed off its excess salt content, before slicing for use. Ditto for tasty variants, e.g., exotic sausages like merguez or chorizo, to vastly reduce their excess fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Big hit with my family. Easy and cheesy. I imagine very high in fat therefore it's one of those recipes for special occasions. company or chirstmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Delicious! Since I am counting calories, I omitted the butter altogether (per others' reviews that it was too greasy) and added a thawed/drained box of chopped broccoli between the cheese and ham layers. I made it for breakfast with a group of friends and everyone loved it! It was so easy and I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
i changed most of the recipe I made a sweet casserol wherein i blended banana, cottage cheese and yogurt as I was out of milk with 1 egg. (infact this made it nice and rich). I used olive oil, cheese(Parmasean-grated) and raisins and nuts and sprinkled a pinh of brown sugar for the taste. I added crutons and small pieces of ham..amd cooked for 15 mins each ramkin at 435 degrees. Tasted yummy..especially my picky daughter ate it so tells me it must be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States