Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
For someone who coupons, I can almost always get croutons for nothing. This recipe absolutely comes in handy for using those croutons and it's filling and tasty to boot. I took one of the other reviewer's suggestions and used six eggs instead of four and I added some sauteed onion, garlic, mushrooms and red pepper as well as a little chopped chives and fresh black pepper. Next time, I think I'd cut the butter back some and use a little non-stick spray in it's place as it did turn out a little greasy. My kids really loved this. It's almost like a puffy oven omelette. VERY simple to make as I was cleaning up the kitchen from dinner and to just pop in the oven as I was waking up in the morning. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
If you’re not a fan of stratas or bread puddings, like my husband, you won’t care for this either. But for me this was such a nice change from the umpteenth variation of omelets or scrambled eggs. I added my favorite omelet ingredients, mushrooms and onions, and used a flavorful and plump, freshly made garlic crouton from our market’s bakery. I really enjoyed the addition of the mustard which gave this just a little flavor twist. It served real pretty too and was a cinch to throw together after supper last night to pop in the oven early this morning. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was just okay for me. The ham made it pretty salty, but it's a great way to use up croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
this was a great easy dinner for us. I doubled the recipe but it would have been plenty left as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very easy to make!! It's in the oven now and smelling REALLY good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBQME2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was very good and different from my other egg bake recipes. Like many others, I did make it "my own" - mainly by adding more eggs. We are hearty eaters and everyone enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I had a breakfast casserole about 7 years ago at a bed and breakfast and I was very much in love with it, but the owner would not part with the recipe. For years I have been trying to duplicate it and this recipe is the closest I have ever tasted. Simply wonderful even for dinner. I doubled everything and added mushrooms and green peppers. My picky boys devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This recipe is so versatile! I can add veggies, spices or different kinds of meats and it always turns out perfect. I usually double it and put it in a 13x9 pan. This is a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this for a big family gathering this weekend, and it was very popular even among the picky eaters. I bought seasoned focaccia bread with jalapeno's at the grocery and diced and dried it to make the croutons. It really added flavor to the dish. Also, I would recommend using much less butter, as the dish seemed too greasy (I think the cheese would probably melt out enough grease without the butter, since it goes on top of the croutons.) Also, I added a small can of diced green chilies to the egg mixture for a bit more flavor. I did not refrigerate overnight, just assembled and cooked it right away. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We love this casserole. I did up the croutons to about 1 1/2 cups. I also use egg beaters and fat-free evaporated milk to save some fat and calories. There is also no need to refrigerate, I just pop it into the oven. Super yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine32019

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States