Country Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This recipe is awsome! Just a tip my mother in law taught me. Whenever making green beans always use chicken broth instead of water. They taste so much better when you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
900 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I made this for Sunday dinner with the family and everyone loved them. I cooked up some bacon instead of using ham and added extra onions. Simple and delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I used green beans right from the garden. I also omitted the ham and used bacon. I fried up four piece of bacon and added then last as so they would not get soggy. For a dash of flavor I added a 1-teaspoon of lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Very, very good. I did saute the onion and garlic together with the butter until translucent before adding the remaining ingredients. I also took another reviewer's advice and used homemade chicken broth in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I LOVED this recipe. I wanted to try something different and all I had was frozen green beans.. I also used bacon instead of the ham.. I cooked the bacon in the skillet halfway then added all the ingridients! IT WAS DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Husband really liked these. I used 3 slices of bacon to replace the ham (we didn't have any) Cooked the bacon and then removed. Sauteed onions in drippings, then added the rest along with some fresh garlic. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
DELICIOUS! I made one small alteration. Instead of water I used chicken stock. (I never use water!) Meat stock improves any dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Absolutely LOVED these! I added one more clove of garlic and took the advice of others and used chicken broth. I also omitted the ham simply because i didn't have any on hand. Hubby said they were the best green beans he has ever had! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These green beans were a wonderful addition to a rib dinner. I usually use chicken broth when making green beans but thought that the combo of ham, onion, and garlic would make a flavorful enough broth so I made them as directed. I think that the use of chicken broth in place of the water or a Tablespoon of a good quality chicken soup base such as Penzeys would have notched the flavor up to a 5 star plus recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
We love this recipe. I used 1/8 t. of garlic powder instead of the clove of garlic and also 1 T. of dried onion instead of chopped. (I just don't keep those fresh ingredients on hand.) I think it was a little much on the onion, and plan to try 2 t. of dried onion next time. Used water as called for instead of chicken stock as others recommended. These were soo terrific I wanted to eat the entire bowl. Great way to get my veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States