Country Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Delicious! I also used finely chopped leftover bacon (about 4 slices for 2 pounds of green beans) and cooked them much longer than recommended (maybe 40 minutes?) so they got soft and absorbed the sauce. These taste EXACTLY like the Bird's Eye Green Beans and Spaetzel frozen dish but are obviously much better fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Made these for a BBQ last night...huge hit! I substitued bacon for the ham and it turned out great, even my husband who "only likes fresh (uncooked) green beans loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Wonderful! We used chicken stock instead of water & added country ham instead of regular ham. These beans had SO much flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Loved these. Due to diet restrictions, I used 1/2 T light butter instead of 1/4 c butter and 1 slice cooked bacon instead of the ham. Still delicious! Agree that using veggie or chicken broth instead of water gives them more flavor. YUM - thanks for a great way to fix green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was a HUGE hit with my family and even my 18 month old (who never eats veggies) loved them. I did follow the advice of the previous poster and used chicken broth in place of the water but they were sooooooo tasty. I also omitted the ham but they were lovely as a side :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliMc

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These were terrific! Me and my family loved them and they were so easy. My hubby even went back for seconds and he normally does not do that with green beans! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
These beans are so awesome. They beat a regular steamed bean any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was so yummy! Definitely my new green bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was a very good side dish. We didn't use ham, but it was good without it. I think I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States