Country Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
BRAVO!!! My picky 5 y.o. daughter asked for thirds. My 1 year old ate about 10 beans. I did take prior suggestions of chicken broth. I also used my cast iron skillet to saute the onion, garlic and ham in the butter. Once the onions were translucent I added the beans. I cooked the beans for about 4 minutes, stirring about every 30 - 40 secs to coat with the butter mixture. Then I added the mixture to 1/4 of chicken broth. The best beans ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
So delicious. I made it with proscuitto instead of bacon, but it was still amazing. We just prefer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I subbed the water with chicken broth, bacon instead of ham, and instead of onions (my family is picky about onions) I used half a packet of onion soup mix. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This recipe was so easy and so delicious! I used bacon instead of ham, and sauted the onions a little bit. My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made this recipe minus the ham. Also, I followed the advice of another reviewer and used chicken stock instead of water. My family really enjoyed this recipe. Thank you for sharing. Will definitely be making this one more often... and will be making it with the ham on occasion as well. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I used several slices of bacon instead of ham and omitted the water and they were delicious! I will make sure I try them with ham but I happened to have bacon on hand and several of the reviewers preferred it that way. One time I was cooking for a crowd and they were ready too early, so I put the pan of green beans in the oven until everything else was done. Surprise...even better when they were just slightly browned so now I do that intentionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Husband LOVED this recipe! My first time actually cooking fresh green beans...*blush*...and they turned out GREAT! :D I used bacon, of course, 4 whole strips, and cooked the bacon and onions together (I used half a small onion). I also used pre-minced garlic that comes in the jars. Fantastic recipe, so much easier than I ever imagined! :D Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was totally awsome - didn't have ham so I fried up some bacon - hubby wants this again and again. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Superb! I was able to get my kids to eat green food...that's a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe was very good. I sauteed the onion and garlic before adding the ham and green beans. I left out the water completely, but it turned out I really didn't need the excess liquid at all. I also left out the salt. The ham was salty enough on its own. The only negative was the amount of butter the recipe called for. I used the full amount stated, but next time I will cut that amount in half and then add a couple tablespoons of chicken broth or water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tustin, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States