Country Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made these for dinner quite often, My husband loves these and can not tell whether or not they are fresh beans or can bean I have (doctored up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I do these in a slow cooker all day. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenback, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this for a family thanksgiving 3 years ago and it's now my dish to bring. People look forward to it every year. Definitely a traditional keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Made it last night for probably the 10th time. I reduced the butter to half and it was actually a lot better. Would definitely recommend this recipe, but play with the butter quantities to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob and Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Great recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
We cheated and used canned green beans. They were eaten and loved by many. A yummy basic bean recipe with some flavor and zest instead of just beans. (Easy to do while camping for Thanksgiving in the crock pot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I spent time reading reviews before making this dish. As the majority of you stated, it is better to substitute bacon for ham and broth for water, so that is exactly what I did. In fact, I got a head start on making this dish early in the day for a party that evening, so I mixed up the beans, onion, garlic and bacon early in the day and stored in the refrigerator to let them marinate, and right before cooking, I added the broth and butter. My only complaint was the amount of butter. The green beans were absolutely coated and tasted and looked greasy. It made it less appealing, and the following day, there was congealed butter at the bottom of the tupperware dish. Next time, I will double the broth and omit the butter completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I also followed the recipe as written and it was okay; a borderline 2-star rating. I used fresh green beans but the onion, smoked ham, butter, and garlic just didn't provide flavor to the beans. Perhaps broth would have improved the flavor but increase the fat and calories and I was looking for a healthy recipe. I won't make this again although it was flavorless and edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
We put 2 slices bacon in a stock pot, followed by 1 garlic clove, 1 red onion, about 2 cups beef broth. When boiling, added one red potato, cubed, and green beans. Covered, simmered for about 1 hour, added fresh basil and rosemary, and IT WAS DELICIOUS!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These are the best green beans I've ever had! And so easy! I simplified this recipe a bit by using canned green beans (draining about 1/2 of the liquid). I used 3 pieces of bacon. I fried the bacon half way in a pain, cut it up into smaller pieces, then dumped it and 1/2 of the bacon grease in with the beans. Then I sauteed vidalia onions in the remaining bacon grease, then dumped those in and let it sit on low for 20 mins to meld the flavors. I also added a few small pinches of Stacey's Hamburger Seasoning (search for the recipe). It was the BEST green beans I've ever had. Sooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States