Country Fried Steaks with Sweet Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was my 1st attepmt at trying coutnry fried steak and it was so nervous this is an easy recipe to follow and my husband barely left any for the rest of us. But the true test was my 3 year old daughter who hates everything I had to bribe her to eat it and after she did she asked for more thats when I knew I had a keeper. The only change I made was using buttermilk to coat my steaks may sound strange but adds great tenderness. Good Recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I've been cooking for 3+ years and this is the best country fried steak recipe I've ever come across. The changes I made were to delete the cayenne, and for the milk I used 1/2 cup whipping cream and 1/2 cup low-fat milk. The gravy was the best I have ever made. I will use the gravy recipe for other beef dishes I make as well. I rarely fry, because I do not like the grease, however this recipe was not greasy in the least. Thanks for a terriffic recipe Terry!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is just the way my grandmother and mom make it. I omit the cayenne pepper because my family doesn't like it spicy. I don't always remember to put in the cornstarch and it's great either way. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this recipe tonight and it worked out great. Really easy to put together and the gravy was great with the sides I made. Add the cayenne pepper, you cant tell it's in there, it just gives the whole thing more flavor. The gravy was really easy to make, I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanJanRice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I cooked recipe like it said and the steaks came out rubbery and a little tough. The gravy rocks though. I have never had a recipe with cube steaks where they weren't tough. I may make the gravy again, but not the cube steaks. Might be good with chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Made this tonight for my family and we absolutely loved it! My husband and I were a little skeptical about the amount of onions at first but three onions was perfect. Easy to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
YUMMM!! I just took a taste as it is cooking right now... It smells SO good, I think my hubby will come home and be very pleased. I gave this 4 stars since I had to add more seasonings and also added beef base to the gravy. You know us people from the deep south love flavor... lol.. It's a keeper! Thank you for sharing your recipe, Terry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~PAMELA~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I have always wanted to try to make country fried steak but never got around to it. I decided to try this recipe and I was not disappointed. I don't think I will ever eat country fried steak at a restaurant ever again! I will make this recipe at home again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Used left over prime rib...poked with a meat tenderizer used egg milk wash and left out cayenne. I also used a deep fryer. The gravy I used 1% milk and a little whipping cream, OMG Delicious gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Holy crapola! My hubby and I absolutely love this!! For us the steaks came out a bit tough but I believe that'd be our fault. Other than that mistake it was so delicious!!! So much flavor in the meat, the gravy is to die for, and I swear there can just never be enough onions!! Thank you for sharing this very yummy recipe!! Will do again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States