Country Fried Steaks with Sweet Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is just the way my grandmother and mom make it. I omit the cayenne pepper because my family doesn't like it spicy. I don't always remember to put in the cornstarch and it's great either way. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
YUMMM!! I just took a taste as it is cooking right now... It smells SO good, I think my hubby will come home and be very pleased. I gave this 4 stars since I had to add more seasonings and also added beef base to the gravy. You know us people from the deep south love flavor... lol.. It's a keeper! Thank you for sharing your recipe, Terry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~PAMELA~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was my 1st attepmt at trying coutnry fried steak and it was so nervous this is an easy recipe to follow and my husband barely left any for the rest of us. But the true test was my 3 year old daughter who hates everything I had to bribe her to eat it and after she did she asked for more thats when I knew I had a keeper. The only change I made was using buttermilk to coat my steaks may sound strange but adds great tenderness. Good Recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Holy crapola! My hubby and I absolutely love this!! For us the steaks came out a bit tough but I believe that'd be our fault. Other than that mistake it was so delicious!!! So much flavor in the meat, the gravy is to die for, and I swear there can just never be enough onions!! Thank you for sharing this very yummy recipe!! Will do again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Used left over prime rib...poked with a meat tenderizer used egg milk wash and left out cayenne. I also used a deep fryer. The gravy I used 1% milk and a little whipping cream, OMG Delicious gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Didn't have onion powder though. Also doubled the cayenne but it didn't make it spicy. I love spicy so next time I'll triple or quadruple it. :) Didn't have milk. Used heavy whipping cream. Also, I only cooked the meat on each side for about two minutes instead of four. Came out very tender. Oh and I actually used venison because it's what I had on hand. Would recomend to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I have always wanted to try to make country fried steak but never got around to it. I decided to try this recipe and I was not disappointed. I don't think I will ever eat country fried steak at a restaurant ever again! I will make this recipe at home again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Made this tonight for my family and we absolutely loved it! My husband and I were a little skeptical about the amount of onions at first but three onions was perfect. Easy to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
The BEST! Husband does not like beef and ate this up with no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I am giving this five stars because of the review my husband gave it - I personally would give it four stars only because such a sweet gravy is not for me - Don't doubt the large amount of onions you slice, they will cook down and turn out ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA
Living In: Long Neck, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States