Country Fried Steaks with Sweet Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
The CFS could use a little more spice but other than that great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
If I could give it more than 5 stars I would. This dish actually makes your belly happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is a good recipe. I made a few changes to it but not much. First of all, I adjusted the recipe for 6 serving and used 6 top blade steaks (that I pounded out). Then I seasoned the meat on both sides with a little garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne and salt before dredging in the flour mixture. I didn't have sweet onions, so I used 3 large yellow onions instead. Because I adjusted the servings I reserved a 1/2 cup of flour mixture instead of 1/3 cup. Followed the recipe as stated from the flouring to the return of the steaks to the gravy. Because the meat was almost done, I only simmered in the gravy for about 20 minutes. The gravy was a little bland so I added a few extra shakes of salt to it. Turned out great! I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
The gravy was tasty but I don't understand why we browned and fried the steaks in the first place if we are going to submerge them in the gravy later. The coating came off the steaks when it was simmering in the gravy... I think it would be better if the steaks were fried and cooked separately from the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I would have liked the steaks a little more tender, but otherwise this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This recipie tasted more like a mixture of salsbury steak and stroganoff. Won't be using again for country fried steak. Great taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very good! Will make for my family again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly McCutcheon-Seabolt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Just made this for Sunday dinner....and it was delicious! :) I wanted something different to make, picked this recipe and so glad I did! I thought it would be too "oniony", but definitely was not. Very easy to make as well as the meat and onions were extremely tender. I will be making this the next time the in-laws come over! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Excellent recipe! The only thing I did different is I used hamburger patties instead of cube steak. It makes a perfect country fried steak every time and it makes the cooking time a lot shorter. Thanks again for this recipe. This will be how I make my gravy every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States