Country Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These were pretty bland. I think next time I'll add way more seasoning to the meat, and breading. But otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was by far the best country fried steak recipe out there. The crust stayed on and it was crispy. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was excellent. I haven't made Chicken Fried Steak in a long while but it was great. The flavor was wonderful. I did use ritz crackers instead of saltines. I think thats what did it. Will definently make this again. Served with mashed potatoes and gravy of course. The family loved it!!! Even my twin 3 year old boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Adkins, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very easy recipe to follow. I followed all directions. My only complaint was that it was a bit on the salty side. I will use low sodium crackers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Didn't really taste like country fried steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Don't hate me, but I didn't exactly follow the recipe. :) I had leftover "Hugh's Dry Rub" & it's similar to the ingredients listed so I used that adding a little dill (1/4t dill, 2 12T rub). I had more cubed steak than listed so put the spices directly on the meat. Then the flour/saltine combination. Then egg/milk. Then flour/saltine again. I had plenty of the coating. Didn't make extra. Everyone liked it, but it didn't wow me. The coating I'll definately make again - adding spices to it, or to both it & the meat. (Four ounces saltines is a sleeve, btw - provided you have a pound box). Allowing the meat to lose its coolness, helped the breading adhere to the steak & not stick to the pan (I think anyway). I cooked them over (gas) medium for about 5 minutes on each side. Once (& sorry if it grosses you out) the wet, pinkish color starts to come to the top of the steak, it's time to turn over. Using half butter & half olive oil is a yum combination for panfrying. Oh, made white gravy, too. Good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This recipe was great. I added extra seasoning though. When making this recipe make sure you press the steak very hard into the breading. This way it wont fall off when your are eating it. I deep fried this instead of pan frying. It took about 7 min. for two steaks. It turned out great and had a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gregory, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was a easy and quick recipe. At first it looked a little bland to me and I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out... but I live in a house with 3 men..all thumbs up. I added worcestershire sauce for alittle spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justpeachymb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These were ok and were very edible but they lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
The flavor was great but unfortunately the "crust" fell off of the steak quite easily while slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States