Country Fried Steak and Milk Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Tasted great! Husband and kids LOVED it! Will make again!!! I didnt make the gravy part though, I needed to use a packet of gravy that has been sitting in my cupboard. Also, I substituted canola oil for the lard with no problems. I do have to add, I agree with MBUENZLI's review- Country Fried Steak is not supposed to be exploding with flavor. And for anyone having problems with the batter falling off the meat when you fry, make sure your oil is heated enough before adding the meat. I do this by dropping a pinch of flour into the oil. If it bubbles like crazy, its ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
564 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamanunez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I have never used a "recipe" for this dish in my life, as I learned to cook in my g'ma's Southern kitchen, but this is how I have always done it! One change I did make from Mamaw's gravy was to use half milk and half chicken broth. It won't taste like chicken gravy but it will have a bit more richness. This is the only way I make milk or cream gravy anymore. Another reviewer said to make sure your grease is hot enough and that is wonderful advice. Frying at too low a temp is a common error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
501 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimosa ain't no PRO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I was soooo happy with this recipe. I did change it a little but it was delicous.. I browned the meat in 1 stick of margarine and 2 tablespoons of Extra virgin olive oil instead of Lard. I also cooked it a little longer than what called for so coating was crispier. The gravy was scrumptious and my boyfriend said he would love for me to make this again.. thans for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
410 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelcampbell
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made this for dinner a few nights ago and we thought it was pretty darn good. It was my first attempt at country fried steak and I think I did a pretty good job, even though I did change the recipe a little bit. I used buttermilk and one egg and I seasoned the flour more than the recipe called for (with garlic powder, salt, pepper and paprika). After dredging in the milk and flour, I let the steaks sit for about 20 minutes, then I heated canola oil (instead of lard) to cook the steaks in (I also used a cast iron skillet). The only other change I made was to the gravy. I doubled the sauce for starters...here's what I did. After frying the steak, I poured the oil out of the pan, but reserved 1/4 cup and added it back to the pan. I then whisked in 4 Tbsp of the flour which I'd used for dredging - cooked that a little to cook out the "floury" taste. Then I added 1 cup of 1% milk and 1 cup of whole milk, then I seasoned with about 1 Tbsp of fresh crushed peppercorns and about 1/2 - 1 tsp of salt. I think the amount of peppercorns was a bit too much, (I would use probably 2 tsp next time). It was still very good and I will likely make this dish again. The gravy was fantastic and I intend to make it for fried chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Very good comfort-style food. Fried steak in butter, seasoned (simple salt and pepper with a touch of paprika) coating was nice and crusty and I had no problem with it adhering. Doubled the sauce. Removed steak from the pan onto a warmed plate, added a gob of butter, melted, and an equal amount of flour. Whisked flour into butter to cook out the raw flour taste, (a couple of minutes) and SLOWLY add the milk. Flour will seize into an unappetizing ball, but don't despair. Keep whisking and slowly adding milk and eventually the mass will soften and loosen to a wonderful gravy. By doing it this way you'll have a gravy that's thickened to your preference. Salt & pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This is a family favorite. Lots of pepper is a MUST! I do sometimes add 1/8 to 1/4 tsp of garlic powder or sometimes a little minced garlic (my Mom's secret ;)) and ALWAYS double the gravy as we like lots of gravy for both the top of the meat and for mashed potatoes. Also fantastic over plain sliced bread too! A real southern cookin' favorite. I always use my cast iron skillet for this dish, it just seems to taste better and always come out perfect that way for some reason. For those who can't get the batter to stick, the cooking oil must be HOT when you add the piece of breaded meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
Very easy and delicious. Instead of making the gravy, I used McCormick Country Gravy mix and added a little pepper. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I have BAD-=- BAD!!! Luck with Gravy.. But this time it turned out great. Everyone was shocked that I was able to do it! Thanks for this recipe I'm going to use it ---ALWAYS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Great recipe. It's kinda common sense...but I couldn't find a recipe for country fried steak in any of my recipe books. I used venison cubed steak and the flavor was tremendous. Thanks for the life saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States