Country Fried Steak and Milk Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I've only had country fried steak in restaurants, never have I attempted to make it myself. This was pretty easy, I followed the recipe pretty much, we used bacon fat to fry the steaks...and make the gravy...I know really unhealthy...but boy was it good. The gravy was so good. Next time and this will not be an often thing for me to eat, but I'll double the gravy for the mashed potatoes too. Was a very nice special treat...and way better than any restaurant has ever served me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
not for me, very bland and tasted like oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious. Perfect comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I followed a reviewer by seasoning the steak/flour with Emeril's Essence. The seasoning worked really well minus the frying lard. I don't know if there's another frying subsitute you could use to cut the lard taste out like peanut oil. Too much flour so I dredged in batter than in flour. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Really good recipe, I doubled everything. I cut the steaks the long way so they wouldnt be too tough to chew for the kids. Made the gravy as is....great meal. Just be sure to add a little extra seasoning to the flour so the batter isnt just tasting like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Best country fried steak I've ever made! So easy and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I looked this up because it had been so long since I made this dish. I loved it in college and my family loves it now. The only change I made was that I caramelized onions in the oil before frying the meat. Then I put the meat in to fry and finish cooking. I turn down the heat, put the onions on the bottom, then put the meat on top. I make the gravy and pour it over all and simmer it until it is tender enough to cut with a fork. I remove the onions before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
My wife and I made this yesterday morning and it turned out great. We used Vegetable Shortening instead of lard, and cooked it on cast iron. Instead of measuring out the left-over fat for the gravy, I just left it in the pan and eye-balled the rest. A tip for making the gravy, especially if you're using cast iron: Turn down the heat and add as much milk at a time as you can, because the cast iron gets so hot it will evaporate the milk extremely fast unless you can cool it down. Also, use a wire whisk to constantly stir the gravy and break the chunks apart -- whisks always work great for gravy-making. Ours turned out a little on the thick side, but it tasted great. Another tip: if your gravy tastes bland and floury, just add more salt and keep it on the heat a tad longer. Gravy without salt will always taste funny. Great tasting and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I normally do all the cooking in our house but one night my husband decided he was going to take over for me. I read him the recipe while he cooked and he could not believe something so simple could taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This reciepe was awesome! Googled Country Fried Steak, and it popped up this one. Was just looking for a simple and easy recipe, and I found one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssj4archangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States