Country Fried Steak and Milk Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My family Loved it even my 5yr old ! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was really tasty, and I will make it again. Kids were not thrilled but DH loved it. I will pound out the round steak a bit more next time to make it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
great recipe. husband loved it... only changed the recipe a little...used left over sausage grease, with light olive oil & canola oil instead of lard. I also seasoned the meat & flour with a little onion powder, garlic powder & italian seasoning. the gravy was delicious..I, too, made extra by leaving 1/4 cup grease in the pan...i plan to use this gravy recipe in the future...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This was so good! The only thing I had a hard time with was keeping the breading on the meat. Other than that, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Not my favorite, but the bf loved it. I thought the gravy could use more flavor. Added garlic and onion powder to flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Super delicious! Very simple recipe but maybe that is what makes it so great! I would definitely suggest to chill the steaks, after coating, for about 1-2 hours to let the coating stick. Otherwise, they seem to just fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarazion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Nice and simple recipe for Country Fried Steak. I left the lard out to make it a bit healthier and seasoned it with a teaspoon of rosemary for a little extra flavor (and because that's how I remember my mom making it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I've been making this recipe for years. The only difference is I use Vegetable oil instead of lard & I don't use an entire cup of flour (1/4 C give or take). This is one of the good ole southern dish's that I grew up eating. More than likely one of the first recipes I learned to make. As a young lady growing up in the mountains in Tennessee, the first things I learned how to cook was how to fry EVERYTHING! (Poultry, beef, pork, venison, wild turkey, vegetables, etc!) My family never used measurements, I learned to "eyeball" it & add a little more of this, a little less of that, whisk & continue cooking until it "looks right." Lol.. I know it sounds funny but that is really how I was taught! My husband requests this the most. But he doesn't like gravy on it, (I do) he just likes it fried extra crispy with salt & pepper. This is a great basic recipe that you can play around with & add your own spin on it with adding spices & making the gravy to your preference. It's absolutely a 5 star recipe. Everyone will enjoy this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Tasty and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryn2kuk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
What I have done to keep my seasoned flour on the steak is after I dredge the meat through the flour mixture (I use Kentucky Kernel instead of flour) I then let it set for a few minutes~about 5, before placing it in a HOT pan. his way the flour is well adhered to the meat and stays put.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Titus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States