Country Fried Steak and Milk Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
EXCELLENT! I added some seasoned salt and garlic powder to the flour mixture for a bit more flavor. Also, I used a mixture of bacon grease (Thanks for the idea, Sherri, lol) and veg. oil for frying, instead of the lard, and just browned the meat in the pan and finished cooking it in the oven. I doubled the gravy to ensure that there was enough for our mashed potatoes too! I really can't believe how tender the meat came out...soooo good! Hubby LOVED this dinner, and is already asking for it again, lol. This is a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My family Loved it even my 5yr old ! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was really tasty, and I will make it again. Kids were not thrilled but DH loved it. I will pound out the round steak a bit more next time to make it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
great recipe. husband loved it... only changed the recipe a little...used left over sausage grease, with light olive oil & canola oil instead of lard. I also seasoned the meat & flour with a little onion powder, garlic powder & italian seasoning. the gravy was delicious..I, too, made extra by leaving 1/4 cup grease in the pan...i plan to use this gravy recipe in the future...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This was so good! The only thing I had a hard time with was keeping the breading on the meat. Other than that, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Not my favorite, but the bf loved it. I thought the gravy could use more flavor. Added garlic and onion powder to flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Super delicious! Very simple recipe but maybe that is what makes it so great! I would definitely suggest to chill the steaks, after coating, for about 1-2 hours to let the coating stick. Otherwise, they seem to just fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarazion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Nice and simple recipe for Country Fried Steak. I left the lard out to make it a bit healthier and seasoned it with a teaspoon of rosemary for a little extra flavor (and because that's how I remember my mom making it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I've been making this recipe for years. The only difference is I use Vegetable oil instead of lard & I don't use an entire cup of flour (1/4 C give or take). This is one of the good ole southern dish's that I grew up eating. More than likely one of the first recipes I learned to make. As a young lady growing up in the mountains in Tennessee, the first things I learned how to cook was how to fry EVERYTHING! (Poultry, beef, pork, venison, wild turkey, vegetables, etc!) My family never used measurements, I learned to "eyeball" it & add a little more of this, a little less of that, whisk & continue cooking until it "looks right." Lol.. I know it sounds funny but that is really how I was taught! My husband requests this the most. But he doesn't like gravy on it, (I do) he just likes it fried extra crispy with salt & pepper. This is a great basic recipe that you can play around with & add your own spin on it with adding spices & making the gravy to your preference. It's absolutely a 5 star recipe. Everyone will enjoy this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Tasty and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryn2kuk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States