Country Fried Steak and Milk Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is the 2nd recipe I have made from all recipes and this was just as perfect as the Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I wanted to impress my boyfriend with cooking him a country fried steak dinner so I used this recipe. He loved it. I loved it. I was so impressed. The steaks turned out perfect and was really delicious. I had leftovers for lunch the next day and I thought my steak would be dried out because of reheating in the microwave but it was still perfect and juicy. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Super good and easy to do! I did not use lard, however; I used butter. I did double the gravy so we could use it for the mashed potatoes. As I was eating it, I wondered what it would be like with sautéed mushrooms...hmmm! Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColstonFamilyof5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Made this tonight in 2 batches and 2 ways. First batch made as written, Very good. However, family loved the second batch made by cutting steaks into bite size pieces, sprinkling with salt, pepper and lots of garlic powder , then dredging in flower inside of a ziploc bag and pounding with a mallet, then in egg batter, then back into flour again before frying. Crispy, awesome, YUMMY!!!! The bite size pieces are super tender and cook fast. Gravy was yummy too. I did add a little garlic powder to it. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Finally! I've always loved country fried steak and gravy but could never make it without it turning tough like shoe leather. The magic happens with this recipe and it's as delicious as can be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
The steak part was ok, although I used evoo instead of the traditional lard. The gravy on the other hand left a lot to be desired. I felt as if I were eating flour paste... Ended up going without gravy. Oh well will know to kit up McCormick next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Anne Best

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I'm giving this a 4 because I personally hated it but my family loved it. I made this for my grandmother and great-grandmother who are from West Virginia. They both gobbled this up and enjoyed it immensely but must be more of a dish for them because I found it way too greasy and tough. I also found that the batter fell off and didn't stick to the meat. On the other hand, the taste of the breading was really flavorful as well as the gravy. I will not make this for myself again, but possibly for them. I'll search for a better recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
this was indeed excellent. made as stated but i added garlic powder to the flour, and doubled the amount of gravy. easy and quick to make, but dont overcook, and a family favorite. a real people pleaser. will definitely add this to regular rotation. served with mashed potatoes and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
It's good, but I gave it average rating for 2 reasons. 1. It's very bland. Be sure to add a lot of salt and pepper. 2. (And the biggest reason I gave it 3 stars), it is an absolute mess to make. It took me just as long to clean up as it did to make the dish. Again, when a lot of extra salt and pepper are added, it is a tasty dinner. But, I can probably only have the patience to make it once every few months, if that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busynurseandmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I followed the recipe as it was written and to my shock my kids liked it a lot. 2 Helpings each. I will make again for them. Husband thought it was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States