Country Fried Steak and Milk Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
You don't have to watch the video to get the recipe. Below the video screen at the end of the explanatory paragraph is the recipe name in blue. Click on it. OR click the light gray box that says recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I used kernel flour. Found by the bread crumbs in your local grocery store. No need for any spices. It has just the right seasoning and makes a perfect gravy everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is a recipe my mother (from the panhandle of Texas) taught me to make when I was 10. She said that, until she moved during WW2 to the east coast, this is what she thought "steak" was. Kind of basic, folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have encountered the issue with the batter separating from the meat in other recipes as well. Someone else suggested making sure the oil is very hot; that is a great idea. I'd add that you should make sure the meat you are breading (meat, chicken. portk, etc.) is patted dry before breading. This allows the initial flour dip to take hold on the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
didn't make the gravy (we already had cream gravy to use) but the steaks were good. Could have used more salt (but I eye-balled it so I may not have used enough in the first place - I tend to salt very lightly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Loved this recipe. My 3yr old, picky eater granddaughter asked what it was. I told her it was "chicken", which she loves, and she ate two helpings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I really liked how the cube steaks turned out but I was not a big fan of the gravy I thought it was too greasy and I used regular vegetable oil. My dad who doesn't like greasy food thought it was good and reminded him how his dad made gravy like that when he was a kid so in the end that made me happy so that is why it got 5 stars. I will make this again minus the gravy:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bluffton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Very Good!! My husband and brother loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Lovely, let all ingredients be at room temp,coat,set for 20 mins.coat again then fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My family really loved this recipe. I have made it a couple of times and each time it comes out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States