Country Fried Steak and Milk Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Good recipe but for authentic country fried steak, use crushed cracker crumbs instead of flour after dipping steak in beaten eggs. Makes a huge difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have been using this recipe for years but with one exception. I dip the cube steak in flour and then into the egg mixture and into crushed cracker crumbs. Try it, I think you will like it. Pat Niece- Boise, Idaho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
You don't have to watch the video to get the recipe. Below the video screen at the end of the explanatory paragraph is the recipe name in blue. Click on it. OR click the light gray box that says recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I used kernel flour. Found by the bread crumbs in your local grocery store. No need for any spices. It has just the right seasoning and makes a perfect gravy everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is a recipe my mother (from the panhandle of Texas) taught me to make when I was 10. She said that, until she moved during WW2 to the east coast, this is what she thought "steak" was. Kind of basic, folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have encountered the issue with the batter separating from the meat in other recipes as well. Someone else suggested making sure the oil is very hot; that is a great idea. I'd add that you should make sure the meat you are breading (meat, chicken. portk, etc.) is patted dry before breading. This allows the initial flour dip to take hold on the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
didn't make the gravy (we already had cream gravy to use) but the steaks were good. Could have used more salt (but I eye-balled it so I may not have used enough in the first place - I tend to salt very lightly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Loved this recipe. My 3yr old, picky eater granddaughter asked what it was. I told her it was "chicken", which she loves, and she ate two helpings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I really liked how the cube steaks turned out but I was not a big fan of the gravy I thought it was too greasy and I used regular vegetable oil. My dad who doesn't like greasy food thought it was good and reminded him how his dad made gravy like that when he was a kid so in the end that made me happy so that is why it got 5 stars. I will make this again minus the gravy:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bluffton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Very Good!! My husband and brother loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States