Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
A country classic. My grandmother made this for years and it was always a treat to receive because it tends to take a while to make - esp. when you are feeding a hungry crowd! My dad grows fresh yellow squash each summer and that is what I use - just slice into rounds. I usually add a little garlic powder or garlic salt to the mix, and omit the milk and just use an egg wash. Once hot out of the oil, we top with a generous sprinkling of salt (to suit our family's taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanierj83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
The best fried squash I've ever eaten! I truly made a pig out of myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
My mother in law and I thought they were good even though my husband or kids wouldn't touch them. I did add some seasoning to the flour/corn meal. I also made some onion rings with the mixture. Simple, easy, and a great way to use up some of the squash from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was really good. We used the corn meal, flour and bread crumb mix. Next time I will probably still add salt/pepper and other spices to it too. They didn't take long, and I put a hole bunch in the pan at once. The thinner pieces were best. Daniel also really really liked them too, and we ate them with ketchup and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
So YUMMY! I have never been successful in making good fried squash. We are from the south and I have attempted several times. Boy am I glad I found this recipe. We made it just as the recipe calls for but added extra, salt, pepper and garlic salt. My husband experimented and added some creole seasoning after they came out of the pan and it had a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very bland. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckbradford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I try to cook healthy, but this is a nice treat to have every once-in-a-while. I didn't peel or seed the squash, but it turned out great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katalina1314

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Landstuhl, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Very good but better with extra garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Preston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was really good. It did need to be double dipped, but I have a trick for that. I doubled the flour mixture, and I add 1/3 of it into the egg mixture. Less messy and the same effect as double dipping. Also, I add alot more seasoning, but everybody knows that you season to your own tastes. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyowen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States