Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
yellow squash and zuchini are both good with this recipe BUT when those are out of season the taste not nearly as good I only use self rising flour as well. love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
We really enjoyed this, although I made it with thickly sliced extra large zucchini from my garden. Added a few more spices, 1/2 tsp. each of salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder as someone had suggested, and also a couple good dashes of some Dizzy Pig salt free BBQ spice, and it was super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
this recipe was bland and not worth the calories :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
OH MY! This is a great recipe! Our neighbors had given us squash & zucchini from their garden. I went in search for recipes, and found this one. My husband and I hadn't had fried veggies since we were kids! To the flour mixture, I added garlic powder(omitted garlic salt), onion powder, sea salt & course ground pepper. I was out of milk, so I used evaporated milk. I dipped the veggies in flour mixture, egg & milk, and back in the flour mixture. As soon as I took the veggies out of the pan, I added more salt. I had fixed a big meal, but most of it was left over, due to us filling up on the squash & zucchini! We had some left over and wanted to enjoy these again. I placed the veggies on a cookie sheet, and placed under broiler until nice and crisp. I repeated on other side. They were just as good as the day before. I'll certainly make again & again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
A country classic. My grandmother made this for years and it was always a treat to receive because it tends to take a while to make - esp. when you are feeding a hungry crowd! My dad grows fresh yellow squash each summer and that is what I use - just slice into rounds. I usually add a little garlic powder or garlic salt to the mix, and omit the milk and just use an egg wash. Once hot out of the oil, we top with a generous sprinkling of salt (to suit our family's taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanierj83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
The best fried squash I've ever eaten! I truly made a pig out of myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
My mother in law and I thought they were good even though my husband or kids wouldn't touch them. I did add some seasoning to the flour/corn meal. I also made some onion rings with the mixture. Simple, easy, and a great way to use up some of the squash from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was really good. We used the corn meal, flour and bread crumb mix. Next time I will probably still add salt/pepper and other spices to it too. They didn't take long, and I put a hole bunch in the pan at once. The thinner pieces were best. Daniel also really really liked them too, and we ate them with ketchup and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
So YUMMY! I have never been successful in making good fried squash. We are from the south and I have attempted several times. Boy am I glad I found this recipe. We made it just as the recipe calls for but added extra, salt, pepper and garlic salt. My husband experimented and added some creole seasoning after they came out of the pan and it had a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very bland. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States