Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amy Cantrell
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I used this recipe to fry up the first mess of squash from my garden and it was perfection. I did everything as written except left out the milk and went with just egg, also I left out the garlic powder and pepper. I salted when they were fresh out of the frying pan. This recipe in my opinion is for a very good quality squash with the best flavor, and also for people that love that squash flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Cantrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Dubois
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I just made this. I added a little cayenne pepper. I also used squash I had sliced and froze individually. Using the frozen squash worked great. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Dubois

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I just have a quick question. I bought squash that has already been sliced but, was not peeled nor were the seeds removed. Will it be okay to fry them this way?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Wilson
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I liked it but had to add just a pinch more (sea) salt. My children loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This recipe is a very basic fried squash recipe. It fries crispy, but is a little bland on the seasoning side. I'm always a little annoyed by people that give 5 star reviews, but list all the alterations they made. I'm sorry, but you didn't use the recipe!!! Don't leave a review if you make alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I am giving this a 5 star based on using recommendations others suggested. I added more salt and pepper....also added a little bit of blackening seasoning and double breaded it! Great for squash and green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Fantastic! I am adding this to my regular rotation. Yummy! Yummy! (I did add more garlic to the mix and extra salt and pepper is best to add immediately upon pulling out of the grease.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I followed this recipe with one exception, I used Italian seasoned breadcrumbs in place of cornmeal. I used yellow crookneck squash. I like it sliced thin. I cooked it in my fry daddy (deep fryer) on 300 degrees. These squash were delicious. Next time I will probably use a little more salt and pepper. That is the only change I would suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I added a bit more salt and omitted the milk completely. I also used approximately 1/4 c. more flour because I don't care for the grainy texture of the cornmeal. Big hit with my husband and myself - (a former squash hater). Thanks for posting this super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lolita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Ok....in theory this should be delicious-but there are a few issues. Since butternut squash is such a firm squash it should be noted that your slices shouldn't be any thicker than 1/4 inch. Also, this really is a bland recipe. More salt, more pepper, more garlic, and herbs are what I added. And, for us anyway, because our slices were thin and we got more, we needed about double the breading per weight. Other than that I am glad that I can across this recipe because it was a great new way to enjoy butternut, and a healthier way to enjoy something fried :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States