Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Made the recipe as listed except I used green squash that was not peeled or seaded, and i added a pinch of italian seasoning. It was great! My wife kept talking about how amazing it was, and I couldn't stop munching on it while the next batch was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kunming, Yunnan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I used yellow squash and zucchini for this recipe and we loved it! I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGoolsby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This really does need to be double dipped. After frying one and tasting I added a lot more garlic salt and a bit of Blackening Seasoning, was much better. I did cut thin slices. These are good also dipped in Ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
After reading reviews, I cut the milk and the cornmeal in half. Added a little onion powder and used yellow squash. I did use 2 coats of egg wash and batter. Very yummy! Served with ranch dip, but I was pleased to discover that the dip wasn't necessary. Tip: the thinner the slices, the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
You have got to try this recipe!Oh my gosh!!! This is delicious! I can not stop eating the green tomatoes I fried up using this dredge. The squash was ok, it would have been better, a LOT better had I cut them thin instead of thick. The fried green tomatoes were out of this world. I did change the recipe up a bit by using (I am a season person, the more, the better!)salt, pepper, garlic powder, parsley, and season all in both the egg wash and the flour/corn meal mixture. I put it in a zip lock bag which makes the clean up easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Very, very good! Will be making this one again and again! Thanks for sharing your recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This was great. I used zucchini and onion rings. Finally a way to make zucchini that my family likes. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is the way to do squash. Just use a simple yellow squash, no peeling or seeding. This is the way my Mother and Grandmother taught me to fry squash. Southern comfort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I used yellow squash for this recipe and it was so easy and delicious. Minor recommendations: Instead of using an egg and milk just use the egg. Also, eliminate the spices in the recipe and just use Italian bread crumbs. In summary, slice the squash, dip in egg, shake in Italian bread crumbs and fry...UM..UM...GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States