Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Sooo good! Tastes just like my grandmama use to make! I also tried it with only italian bread crumbs and egg, also a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
AWESOME! SOOO GOOD! Use the egg! It is a MUST! Make as recipes states, I just added a pinch more sea salt. Worth trying! Dont let the bad reviews change your mind! You will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
At first this was bland, I had to add double salt, garlic powder, onion powder and paprika and then added hot sauce to the egg mixture. Then they were delicious and everyone wanted more!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Cerda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I made these at the last minute and it turned out great! My family loved it! One suggestion though; eat immediately! The squash will turn soggy after a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela G. Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is a good base recipe, but it definitely needs more seasoning. After cooking the first batch I jazzed up the dredge by adding garlic powder, onion powder, paprika,and cayanne pepper. I also double dipped my squash for a thicker batter/crust. With these adjustments this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is pretty good, I'm from the deep south, down on the coast, and we do ours: Dip in Milk and Egg mixture then in Flour, Salt, Pepper mixture: FRY, then Sprinkle with Sugar, it is wonderful, my children, my husband, nor myself like squash, but we love it made like this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made this last night and absolutely loved it! I used both squash and zuccini which worked out great. Another thing I also made was a greek yogurt dip for them. I simply used plain greek yogurt with some dry ranch dressing mix mixed in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I used yellow squash and Added a packet of dry ranch mix instead of salt and garlic salt. Best fried squash ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These were really disappointing for me. My grandmother had an amazing recipe for "fried" squash that she baked in the oven, using summer squash/zucchini and cracker meal. I expected this to taste different and tried not to compare the two, but I just really didn't think these were very good. The corn meal breading wasn't great and they were quite bland. The squash on the inside was nice, but there are so many great recipes for butternut squash that are far less trouble and tastier than this one. I'm glad I tried this, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Despite my failed attempts to make this healthier, it turned out really good! I originally tried to bake it but that didn't work at all (after 20 minutes the bottoms were still not getting crispy/golden), so I ended up frying them anyway, and they still turned out great! I did follow a couple of reviewers' suggestions. I cut the milk in half, added hot sauce to the egg mixture (which didn't even add a hint of spiciness so I won't bother next time), and added extra salt/garlic powder/onion powder. We had to still add some more salt after frying but they were REALLY GOOD. I'm not usually a huge veggie person but I think I liked these better than fries! Might try them with bread crumbs next time and try baking them that way, but these are definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States