Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This recipe is a very basic fried squash recipe. It fries crispy, but is a little bland on the seasoning side. I'm always a little annoyed by people that give 5 star reviews, but list all the alterations they made. I'm sorry, but you didn't use the recipe!!! Don't leave a review if you make alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I am giving this a 5 star based on using recommendations others suggested. I added more salt and pepper....also added a little bit of blackening seasoning and double breaded it! Great for squash and green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Fantastic! I am adding this to my regular rotation. Yummy! Yummy! (I did add more garlic to the mix and extra salt and pepper is best to add immediately upon pulling out of the grease.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I followed this recipe with one exception, I used Italian seasoned breadcrumbs in place of cornmeal. I used yellow crookneck squash. I like it sliced thin. I cooked it in my fry daddy (deep fryer) on 300 degrees. These squash were delicious. Next time I will probably use a little more salt and pepper. That is the only change I would suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I added a bit more salt and omitted the milk completely. I also used approximately 1/4 c. more flour because I don't care for the grainy texture of the cornmeal. Big hit with my husband and myself - (a former squash hater). Thanks for posting this super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lolita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Ok....in theory this should be delicious-but there are a few issues. Since butternut squash is such a firm squash it should be noted that your slices shouldn't be any thicker than 1/4 inch. Also, this really is a bland recipe. More salt, more pepper, more garlic, and herbs are what I added. And, for us anyway, because our slices were thin and we got more, we needed about double the breading per weight. Other than that I am glad that I can across this recipe because it was a great new way to enjoy butternut, and a healthier way to enjoy something fried :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made a few changes to this recipe, and I think it really spiced it up! First, I didn't have any plain cornmeal so I used Jiffy cornbread mix. Secondly, I took the advice of another reviewer and used Lawry Seasoning Salt..a lot of it. Finally, I added cayenne pepper. Keep the heat over medium-low or else the oil will begin to burn after frying several batches. Serve with ketchup or even barbeque sauce, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmaguire81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Sooo good! Tastes just like my grandmama use to make! I also tried it with only italian bread crumbs and egg, also a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
AWESOME! SOOO GOOD! Use the egg! It is a MUST! Make as recipes states, I just added a pinch more sea salt. Worth trying! Dont let the bad reviews change your mind! You will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
At first this was bland, I had to add double salt, garlic powder, onion powder and paprika and then added hot sauce to the egg mixture. Then they were delicious and everyone wanted more!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States