Country Cooking Slow Cooker Neck Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Great recipe. Authentic Southern taste. Fall off the bone tender flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hernando Brownie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hernando, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Cooking neckbones today with cabbage, and baked macaroni and cheese. Did someone say they used pork chops as a substitute for neckbones?? How do you do that? Totally different cooking style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife2248

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I grew up eating NECK BONES my mother would make it into a Purlo(cook it with rice). My husband is from Calif and he claimed he did not like pork neck bones:) Soooo I got some put them in the crock pot then put bbq sause on them told him is was short ribs he nearly scraped the pot. Have never told him the truth:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
My family LOVED these! I grew up on neck bones and I myself have not had any so good. The ONLY thing that I warn anyone about is not to let them slow cook too long. Speaking from experience - All of the meat had fallen off the bone and literally disintigrated in with the fat and grissle making dinner a little more challenging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This sounds like a very good way to tenderize the neckbones so the meat falls away;, but what would you serve it with, my grandmother used to make us neckbones and pinto beans and this recipe is vey similar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Used with beef neckbones and WOW! Simple. Tender. Scrumptious. Served with rotini pasta and kids (ages 2 & 4) gobbled it up! Husband did a happy dance when he realized there was more left in the slow cooker after table was bare. Make sure you have some bread for sopping up sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very tasty, next time I dont think I'll be putting in as much water though. Gotta love budget-friendly recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Made these tonight. Awesome. I did make a few changes, I omitted the vinegar, my mother is from a deeper south ( Mississippi ) vinegar is just used for canning only. Also omitted the thyme b/c I was out. Used more salt. Pork needs a lot of salt. TG we don't have high blood pressure. I also put texjoy steak seasoning heavily on each pork neck due to slow cooker breaking down the seasoning. I did use the 4 cups of liquid - 2 cups beef broth & 2 cups water. Due to the fact i cooked 7 lbs. The flavor was amazing! Cooked white rice, southern fried cabbage and skillet fried potatoes. Yes a truly southern meal! My family loved it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Made the recipe as written. Pulled the meat out at the end and cut the heat, used the remaining heat to cook turnip greens in the broth. Pulled the meat from the bones and put it in the greens. Served with rice cooked with 3 3/4 cups of chicken broth and 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, butter and salt. Served the greens and meat over a bed of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waffles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe was perfect, Very similar to the recipe my husbands aunt uses for the family get togethers (she always brings a crockpot full of pork bones) I added green bell peppers and cajun seasoning along with some fresh minces garlic.... I cooked about 6 lbs of the pork neck bones. served with rice and southern green beans! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States