Country Cinnamon Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is a wonderful quick bread. I took another reviewer's suggestions and made an additional topping for the loaf 1/4 cup sugar, pinch cinnamon and 2 tsp. cold butter and sprinkled it over the top before baking. I made this for a breakfast treat and the whole loaf was devoured. It's one of the best quick breads my family has ever had. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
383 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
What a beauty this bread is! I have no criticism whatsoever. Instead of repeating the layers twice, however, I made three layers of batter and two of cinnamon-sugar. Then, as I often do with quick breads, I topped it with a mixture of 1/4 cup sugar, 1/8 tsp. cinnamon and 1-1/2 tsp. cold butter, which not only dresses it up but gives the bread a delightful sugar crunch. I meant to add a teaspoon of vanilla and forgot, but learned it would just have been a waste of a teaspoon of vanilla anyway as it wasn’t even missed. Hubs is not generally a quick bread fan, and my intention was to send this to the office with him for his staff. After one taste (which he pretty much did under protest because he said he was full from supper) he told me to leave it at home. Whoa. That speaks volumes as to how good this is! Like eating a cinnamon roll in quick bread form. Moist, cinnamony and buttery delicious. Simply beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Simply delicious!!! This is so moist and the buttermilk really does make it fluffy. It tastes just like a cinnamon roll. I used 1/3 c. of brown sugar vs. white for the cinnamon-sugar mixture. I also added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. I glazed this with Vanilla Glaze by Jamie Langston from this site. I've made a couple other cinnamon quick breads from this site, but this one is definitely one of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Perfection! The flavors and sweetness is spot-on and reminded us of a cinnamon roll. The texture is wonderful - perfectly moist but not too dense. Followed the recipe with two small changes. I replaced the 1/3 cup of white sugar with light brown sugar in the cinnamon/sugar layer and added the sugar/cinnamon/butter topping that "naples34102" mentioned in her review. That topping is the perfect addition and just adds more wonderful flavor and a little crunch that we loved. My family can't stop eating and talking about this bread. It's addictive! Hubby and I managed to grab the last small piece and hide it to enjoy with our coffee in the morning. This has already been requested as an addition to the upcoming holiday brunch menus. I won't be waiting for the holidays to make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I made this as a request from my father to bake something with walnuts in it.. I'm sure glad I decided to. I did do a few changes: added 1 extra egg for enrichment, and reduced sugar to 3/4 a cup for the loaf, and used the final 1/4 cup for the cinnamon-sugar filling. Added 1/4 cup of walnuts for a nice crunch, raisins should work well too. The color was a beautiful golden brown, and inside the cake was soft, with perfect flavor, while the cinnamon-sugar parts had baked up to a sweet custard-like finish. Spread with cinnamon coffee frosting from this site, ooh it was heavenly. Whole family loved it. This is the only cinnamon loaf recipe I'll use from now on, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Just the recipe I was looking for. This is a wonderful change from banana bread. I loved it!! Instead of one large loaf, I made 3 mini loafs with a baking time of 35 minutes. I followed the recipe exactly, except for the addition of l/2 tsp of mapleine, only because it was right next to the vanilla I had intended to use. I thought it would compliment the cinnamon flavor nicely, and it did! The bread is very moist and flavorful! Great addition to my collection! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This is probably my new favorite cinnamon quick bread! It had a light texture and reminded me more of a coffee cake than your usual dense quick bread. I will definitely be making this again :-) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I have been looking for a good, easy to make cinnamon bread recipe and this is it. This bread is delicious! Even my husband who is picky loved this bread. The only change I made is to add one teaspoon of cinnamon to the dry ingredients just because I love cinnamon. Then I added a streusel topping of brown sugar and cinnamon. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it baked up beautifully. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Great recipe! So fast and easy. I used 1/3 cup of brown sugar in the recipe instead of all white sugar. This is definitely a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Suida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Made this last night and it was PERFECT. Very easy to make, made the house smell wonderful. This has a consistency of a coffee cake so it is perfect for breakfast. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States