Country Cinnamon Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
What a beauty this bread is! I have no criticism whatsoever. Instead of repeating the layers twice, however, I made three layers of batter and two of cinnamon-sugar. Then, as I often do with quick breads, I topped it with a mixture of 1/4 cup sugar, 1/8 tsp. cinnamon and 1-1/2 tsp. cold butter, which not only dresses it up but gives the bread a delightful sugar crunch. I meant to add a teaspoon of vanilla and forgot, but learned it would just have been a waste of a teaspoon of vanilla anyway as it wasn’t even missed. Hubs is not generally a quick bread fan, and my intention was to send this to the office with him for his staff. After one taste (which he pretty much did under protest because he said he was full from supper) he told me to leave it at home. Whoa. That speaks volumes as to how good this is! Like eating a cinnamon roll in quick bread form. Moist, cinnamony and buttery delicious. Simply beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Peanut Butter Cup
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This bread is soooo good! I poured the dough in with the cinnamon and sugar, kept it in the fridg over night then baked it in the morning. Also this was a pretty sinple recipe for me but I also have my mom to help me. Here's some tips:Make sure the butter and sugar is WELL blended so there is no clumps of butter, and the topping (for me) scrunched up... so that could be modafied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Don't let the simplicity of this recipe turn you off (if it would....). It's fantastic! It never lasts long at our house, but it always stays moist for its shelf life. I usually add a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter... it doesn't make a huge difference, but it's what I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Tasted good, but really crumbly. If I make again I would double the cinnamon mixture. This also tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germfask, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barbeau, Michigan, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
When this first comes out of the oven, it's okay. But the next day, it is really dry. I tried to save it with a vanilla glaze on top, but it's still not that good. I made mine into 3 mini loaves, and we didn' eat two of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Good. The family all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lovettsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Everyone loved this bread it is so good and so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Delicious!! Very moist. I love cinnamon so I added some to the batter as well. Also I didn't have any buttermilk so I made some using skim milk and 1TBS of white vinigar and it turned out just fine. This recipe would make good muffins as well. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cashoda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was pretty good. I used a brown sugar/cinnamon crumb topping instead of sugar and cinnamon. I also added pecans. I think next time I will try adding a bit of apple sauce and another egg and bake in a 9 x 9 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rabit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe! to make lighter I used Applesauce instead of Butter (the same as the butter, you can do the same thing with oil) and I used Splenda. As a suggestion, you can replace the cinnamon with ginger or powdered juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States