Country Cinnamon Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Made this last night, follwed the recipie but added some vanilla and a very small amount of orange extract. Best bread I've made yet, my kids love it, and I'm gonna bake another one right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan the Man

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
yummy! smells delicious while baking. I added 1 tsp vanilla to batter and used half whole wheat flour. In the topping I used brown sugar instead of white. Took 60 minutes to bake in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is a wonderful twist of a cinnamon roll/ bread and it deserves to be next to my coffee as often as humanly possible. *update* Just saw a bread being sold at a large warehouse store for more than $4 (for a single loaf) that looked just like this. I bet it doesn't taste half as good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I normally wouldn't review a recipe I changed and or didn't try myself - but it smelled soo good and looked so good I know I would have loved it! Subbed yougurt for buttermilk...and didn't get to try it because the rotten black lab I call my kid snatched it off the counter b4 hubby and I could try it. SHE, on the other hand, loved it. GRR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was pretty good. My son loved it, 20 stars from him! I made these in my square-muffins pan and drizzled glaze on the tops, per his request. Swapped brown sugar in with the cinnamon (for the swirl) and also went half brown / half white for the sugar in the batter. I like this best when its warmed a little. Good recipe to have, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I may be in the minority on this, but I found this to be "way to sweet!" Maybe, it was the 1 1/3 cups of sugar. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar, with the cinnamon swirl, as others suggested. However, I really wish I did not follow that same reviewers advice and add the sugar coating on top. That just took something already to sweet, in my opinion, and made it that much more sugary. I did not find mine dry though, like some others said. Mine was actually so soft it near fell apart after slicing. I ate one piece but the sweetness was just too much to try another slice even the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was so delicious. The only changes I made was substitute brown sugar for white in the cinnamon mixture and I didn't have buttermilk so I used 1 tbsp vinegar in milk. This is my new favorite sweet bread. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Perfection! The flavors and sweetness is spot-on and reminded us of a cinnamon roll. The texture is wonderful - perfectly moist but not too dense. Followed the recipe with two small changes. I replaced the 1/3 cup of white sugar with light brown sugar in the cinnamon/sugar layer and added the sugar/cinnamon/butter topping that "naples34102" mentioned in her review. That topping is the perfect addition and just adds more wonderful flavor and a little crunch that we loved. My family can't stop eating and talking about this bread. It's addictive! Hubby and I managed to grab the last small piece and hide it to enjoy with our coffee in the morning. This has already been requested as an addition to the upcoming holiday brunch menus. I won't be waiting for the holidays to make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was very good! I used sucanat sugar for the bread part and used a reviewer's suggestion of sprinkling cinnamon/sugar on top. The only changes I might make next time is to maybe add some nuts or raisins. A good cinnamon quick bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Great quick bread. Made it this morning, and it's gone already. We all enjoyed this. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States