Country Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
3 stars because the original is way too high in calories, fats and sodium. I made major changes to ingredients cutting way back on butter----1-T for flavor, a little canola oil and spraying the nonstick pot with PAM. Threw in a package of sliced baby bella mushrooms & a diced onion first, cooked them a til onion was transparent then removed added a little more oil and browned the chicken a little. Used skinless chicken thighs(more flavor) and breast strips. Returned the onion mushroom mix to pot, added seasonings--salt, pepper, poultry seasoning(all to taste)& 3 cans of low sodium chicken stock and simmered until meat was tender. Used 8 oz. each of low fat & fat free sour cream. If it needs thickening add a little corn starch and water before adding sour cream. Served over instant brown rice(I added a little onion powder to it) and tossed some chopped green onions on top. A bit more work but I'm suppose to be on a low sodium, low fat, low everything, if it tastes good spit it out, diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
my daughter made this for dinner and it turned out great. she used boneless/skinless breast, accidentaly took out wrong package , so she cubed it and followed rest of recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Great simple dish with a lot of flexibility. Great to use as a base. I followed the recipe but added onions and carrots. My husband and sons loved it and I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurricane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Very tasty! It makes a lot of gravy, which I appreciate. I would have preferred the gravy to be a little thicker, but that is a minor point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pomeroy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I served it with noodles and put some chopped onion in with the chicken. It was excellent. My kids licked their plates. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love this recipe! The only thing I did differently was to sprinkle paprika on the chicken before browning in addition to the salt and pepper, and I serve it over egg noodles. I do like the idea of thickening the gravy because it is too thin, but still really tasty! My kids loved it so much it is now the requested birthday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyM
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
The 3 E's Excellent, Easy, Economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I only used half the sour cream, and homemade stock. A little salt, and everything was fine. It certainly isn't bursting with flavor, so if you don't like a more mellow chicken dish, this is not for you. It makes great leftovers. Perfect over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bagx8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe, I encourage those who found it blan, etc. to read the reviews paying attention to some great suggestions. I made this and instead of bell peppers, I used a few anaheim peppers instead. I also payed attention to the "down sides" mentioned and it turned out wonderful. If nothing more, it is a wonderful base, so don't just knock it, play with it, become creative. Fun, fun, fun... Wolf...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This was excellent. Very down home. I served it over mashed potatoes and I added a little corn starch to thicken the gravy. But it was excellent. I will make it again. Its an easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Firehouse Country Chicken

Satisfy a big hungry crew with this hearty firehouse chicken and sausage stew.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States