Country Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was Yummy! I reserved my pan drippings from the sausage and used it to fry 1 chopped onion ( I didn't have green onions). I also substituted 1 - 32 oz pkg southern style hash browns instead of the bread. Make sure to fry these in the remaining drippings, and season well with salt and pepper. Works well to thaw sausage and potatoes the night before. This took a few more minutes to cook (50 total ), maybe because no bread to soak up the moisture? My family loved it! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I rarely comment on recipes, but I do read the reviews for hints on tweaking the recipe. We like our food on the spicy side. In the case of this recipe, I was HAPPY not to have hash browns on hand. There are a lot of good breakfast casseroles with hash browns, but I suggest going with the author and leave them out. The bread cubes toast up wonderfully. Awesome recipe..oh yeah...I did make a change in response to the spicy factor. We used chorizo instead of breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I don't use the bread or milk in this recipe. I use hashbrowns instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My family loved this casserole. I used three cubed hot dog buns in place of the bread. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I've made this twice, and my family loves it! I use Jimmy Dean hot sausage and a bit more green onions--maybe 3 versus the one. I skip the drizzled butter part and it comes out fine. I also found that you need to cook it longer than 40 minutes for the eggs to really set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Sato-Heitmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Absolutely Delish! I was in a hurry and didn't have hash browns so I ended up making this recipe as its with Sourdough Bread. I even put the cheese in the middle as directed, I wasn't sure about this, but it came out delicious! I'm glad I didn't have hash browns and that I followed directions exactly or I wouldn't have been able to see how good this recipe was is. Give it a try! I must say that the sourdough bread made it taste great! ENJOY! This fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I was looking for a new Christmas morning casserole and came across this one. Read all reviews and made some changes that were suggested and I even prepared it the night before. To my surprise it was a BIG hit. To the negative reviews..you must have done something wrong. I followed it and added chilies instead of the green onion for a little kick and OBrien potatoes on top, a little extra cheese on top while it set for 10 minutes. Did however have to cook it for an hour. Can't wait to try again with sage flavored sausage. Thank you all recipes you haven't failed me yet. Judy from PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I exchanged the gravy mix for about a cup of home made country gravy, which already had the milk in it, no need to add more; I didn't add any water; I substituted hash browns for strips of bread; and I added a layer of mushrooms sauteed in butter. I also coated the hash browns with a bit of oil and melted butter with salt and pepper. Cooked for 40 mins at 325 then broiled on low for 8 mins to brown. Great base recipe, very easy to customize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Battle Mountain, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This dish was very good! My mom is traditional and she enjoyed it! I would add more meat. Next time I'll try bacon and ham. It needed a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
A huge hit, Family Reunion favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States