Country Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
It's really hard to stop eating this casserole. My roommate and I made it following the recipe, using a mix of sourdough and wheat bread. Personally, I love the taste of sourdough so if I make it again I'd use all sourdough. Also, instead of drizzling the butter over the breadcrumbs, I think frying them up with a little bit of salt and pepper (and garlic!) would make the breadcrumbs fantastic. It was super easy to make. :) We also agreed that hashbrowns on this would have been amazing so long as the top stayed crispy. We were thinking either a bottom layer or mixing in with the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made this recipe just as it was written. Very delicious and easy to put together. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I don't think you should be able to rate the recipe if you've never tried it. If you want to make your own version of it before you've even tried it, then dont bother to comment!!!! I cooked it exactly as dictated. It was good. Will eat it again. Grandkids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Great base! This is an excellent base with all kinds of possibilities! Now, do make sure your sausage is well-drained. You could add cooked mushrooms, more onion as I did and peppers, maybe even a Florentine with broccoli (well drained and chopped) and other cheeses. I also added some Cavendar's Greek Seasoning. Great stuff if you haven't tried it yet! Stale bread works best. This could even be excellent with cooked spinach, kale and swiss cheese! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This has become the "go to" breakfast for overnight guests at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I've changed it a little. I don't buy green onions because I don't use them all and they go bad. Instead I use a drained can of green chilies. Instead of cooking the sausage I use a box of frozen sausage links warmed in the microwave and then chopped in the food processor. Instead of the gravy mix I add 2 tablespoons of flour, salt, pepper and a dash of poultry seasoning. I don't put the bread on top we prefer biscuits with honey. I make this once a week so my Husband can warm up his own breakfast before he walks the dog. Thanks Kristin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kcollins
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Absolutely fantastic. It is also great as leftovers. I froze in individual servings for a quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this recipe but substituted a bag of seasoned croutons scattered across the top instead of the bread. Baked for 30 minutes @ 350 (because I was also cooking cinnamon rolls in the oven at the same time), and it turned out perfect. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
The microwaved leftovers made awesome breakfast burritos the next morning. The taste was awesome since I used fried hash browns on top, peppered sausage gravy and an extra green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was really good. I followed another's advice and did add french bread cubes to the top (with the drizzle of butter) and fried a skillet of hashbrowns and put them on top of the bread cubes when the casserole was nearly done. The cubed bread toasts up nicely and the hashbrowns seemed to complete the whole dish. Made for a wonderful Christmas morning breakfast. Will make again. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States