Country Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe adding the cooked hashbrowns on top. Everyone loved it at a MOPS brunch and I'm asked to make it everytime! The next time I made it, I made it the night before in the crockpot. I doubled the recipe and added a package of O'Brien potatoes into the recipe, not on top, and cooked it overnight, so I wasn't so rushed in the morning. It was just as good and much easier to prepare the night before. It was all gone within minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I loved this casserole as did my husband and his family. There was not a bite left. Instead of topping it with bread I topped it with hashbrowns that I had already cooked in a skillet. I let the casserole bake for about 30 minutes while I was frying the hashbrowns on the stove and then I pulled the casserole out, topped it with the shredded hashbrowns and continued to bake it for about 20 more minutes. Delish! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
First off, I consider myself a pretty good cook and I'm not a beginner. So, I followed a tip to put it in the crockpot and double it. I had it on low all night. I definitely wouldn't recommend the crockpot though - no browning on top and sausage and cheese layer on the bottom cooked too much. I also used the hashbrowns just mixed in with the gravy mix - wouldn't recommend that tip either. I think browning them on the stovetop and then putting them on top is a better idea just cooked in a casserole dish. However, the taste was bland. The top half didn't have enough salt and the sausage/cheese layer was WAY too salty. Might have tasted better if it was all mixed together maybe? I brought it to a MOPS group and only half was eaten. Brought it home and my husband only had one helping and I had to toss the rest. If I ever do try this again, I'll use the casserole dish like it says to and then brown the hashbrowns first before putting them on top. I have a fantastic egg casserole recipe that we use for xmas every year and it's fantastic - I hope they post it on this site soon. I wish I'd have made my tried and true recipe for the MOPS group! Should have tried it on my family first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
excellent! We try a different casserole each Christmas, and my husband claims this to now be his current favorite. Made last night and put in fridge, and simply put in oven this morning. After reading the reviews, I didn't use bread, and I browned a bag of hashbrowns with the sausage, along with one finely chopped onion. I used Jimmy Dean sage sausage. Put that in the bottom of a 9x13 pan, put on a handful of cheese and then the gravy mix. Baked this morning and then added a little more cheese when almost done. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apalachin, New York, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This recipe was super easy and everyone I made it for loved it. Just a few things I wanted to note: the butter on top is not necessary, but I did use the paprika. Also if you have mushrooms and bell peppers around they add a little something extra. And I used turkey sausage to cut some calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This is an EXCELLENT recipe. Extremely easy and it goes together exactly as written. I doubled it and served it for Christmas morning brunch and it was a huge hit. I have served MANY breakfast casseroles - and this is the best EVER! I will be doing it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Leaving out the bread is a big mistake (use french bread if you have it)! Yes definitely add hash browns, but place a single layer of hash brown potato PATTYS on the BOTTOM! It makes a crust. Follow the rest of the recipe exactly except add two additional eggs and a half cup of milk when using a 13 x 9 pan. Of course, fresh gound pepper is a must. I make many breakfast casseroles and this is my new fav!! Bake 50 - 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I made this when my in-laws came to visit last weekend. It got rave reviews and my mother-in-law left with the recipe! I like this one much better than the previous breakfast casserole I used to make because it's much less greasy. I substituted a bag of defrosted shredded hashbrowns for the bread. My husband suggested putting the casserole under the broiler for the last few minutes to make the hashbrowns a little crispier. I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
What an awesome casserole!! I scaled this to 25 for a retreat at my church. I should have made more because it was gone in no time and they were wanting more. I added thawed uncooked hashbrowns before adding the egg mixture. It tasted delicious!! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Very good and easy. I have seen this recipe before and I thought I had to make this the night before so I did, and then read the recipe and it didn't ask for me to do that... but I made it the next morning it was just great! Suggestions: use french bread and cut into one inch blocks,and I added more green onions. But perfect for brunch or Christmas morning, where you just want to stick in the oven and go enjoy the morning! THANK YOU FOR THE RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States