Country Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This is delicious for an occasional breakfast treat. I couldn't find country gravy mix, so I made it with the sausage drippings and omitted the milk and water from the recipe. I also omitted the green onions (I don't like onions with eggs), topped with hash browns instead of bread, omitted the butter, and used about half the cheese. I broiled for an additional 5 min. to brown the hash browns. I way oversalted this--I think the sausage and cheese probably add enough salt on their own, so don't make my mistake and add any more until after you've tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I've made before and it's fabulous. I'd like to make it with biscuits instead like Shamanjon's note, so do you or anyone know if I should bake the biscuits first? Or can I just put the raw dough on top and let them cook off in the oven while cooking casserole? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Yes, kjr, it is a dry mix. It can usually be found in an area with other dry gravy mixes, dry sauce mixes, dry marinade mixes etc. Usually all you need is water. My personal favorite is Pioneer brand. You can use it on most anything: biscuits, chicken, potatoes. I did try this. It was excellent... but the calories... wow! And the cholesterol... This is a lumberjack's breakfast. But he'd leave the table with a smile on his face. Thank you, Kristin Trostle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Love Love Love this casserole! I do add hashbrowns on the bottom and have the bread on top. It is a complete meal in one pan and less mess to clean up. But the first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and it was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Used Sharp Cheddar Cheese, good whole wheat bread, extra green onion and even pan fried and crumbled up some bacon to mix in with the sausage. Bread got nice and toasted on top. It could use maybe 5 or 10 minutes extra in the oven. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Very Good! I made it for my MOPS meeting and there wasn't one bite left! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I enjoyed making it, made according to recipe. Tested on the Water Polo team, they loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made this, using the hash browns. Very good! My husband sprinkled a little Toneys seasoning on his. Next time, I'll use a little minced jalapeno peppers, and possibly some mushrooms. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Made 1/2 the recipe (for 4 servings) and it turned out a bit dry. The bread seemed to just be croutons on the top. I think it needed more eggs. But, it was tasty and had a lot of great ingredients for a filling breakfast. Will try hash browns next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I followed this recipe to the T and found nothing exceptional about it. The bread on top turned out crispy on the top and soggy on the bottom. As others said, hashbrowns would have been far better. the gravy got lost somewhere in there. no one really liked this until I took the bread off the top and put the rest of the mix on tortillas like a breakfast taco. Definitely a waste of ingredients in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gpwhitney7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States