Country Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Made this for dinner last night (: Followed the recipe with some minor changes. I added green pepper..since I have so many from my garden. Also, I have issues with packaged foods, so I made my own gravy to use in this casserole. The gravy recipe I followed is from this site: Mom's Country Gravy. This turned out pretty tasty. My husband said he would definitely eat this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Made this for company and everyone loved it! Replaced the bread with hash browns as others had suggested and put it under the broiler for a few minutes after it was done baking just to get the hash browns a little crispy. Great easy breakfast for a group of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
'Excellent breakfast dish! I made this for our Sunday morning fellowship at church and everyone loved it. Even had someone who ask for the recipe. I'm sure that hash browns taste great on top of the casserole but I stayed with the original recipe and used bread cubes and melted butter. Very tasty dish! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Everyone loved it! I used spicy breakfast sausage. I also did the optional butter and paprika on top the bread cubes, then sprinkled a little precooked bacon and a little bit of extra cheese on top. Baked in a 13x9 baking pan for the 40 minutes and it came out perfect. Heart attack in a pan, but awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
did it in the crock pot--yummy! So great to wake up to breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This is delicious for an occasional breakfast treat. I couldn't find country gravy mix, so I made it with the sausage drippings and omitted the milk and water from the recipe. I also omitted the green onions (I don't like onions with eggs), topped with hash browns instead of bread, omitted the butter, and used about half the cheese. I broiled for an additional 5 min. to brown the hash browns. I way oversalted this--I think the sausage and cheese probably add enough salt on their own, so don't make my mistake and add any more until after you've tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I've made before and it's fabulous. I'd like to make it with biscuits instead like Shamanjon's note, so do you or anyone know if I should bake the biscuits first? Or can I just put the raw dough on top and let them cook off in the oven while cooking casserole? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Yes, kjr, it is a dry mix. It can usually be found in an area with other dry gravy mixes, dry sauce mixes, dry marinade mixes etc. Usually all you need is water. My personal favorite is Pioneer brand. You can use it on most anything: biscuits, chicken, potatoes. I did try this. It was excellent... but the calories... wow! And the cholesterol... This is a lumberjack's breakfast. But he'd leave the table with a smile on his face. Thank you, Kristin Trostle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Love Love Love this casserole! I do add hashbrowns on the bottom and have the bread on top. It is a complete meal in one pan and less mess to clean up. But the first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and it was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Used Sharp Cheddar Cheese, good whole wheat bread, extra green onion and even pan fried and crumbled up some bacon to mix in with the sausage. Bread got nice and toasted on top. It could use maybe 5 or 10 minutes extra in the oven. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States