Country Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Great change from our usual frittata's or strada's. I did make a couple of tweaks though...I omitted the water and added a full cup of milk, made scratch gravy (great leftovers for biscuits), used bacon and pancetta, and added mushrooms, red pepper and spinach. I think my husband actually licked his plate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
My family loves this! The only things I did different was that I used a peppered gravy mix instead of country gravy and I did not put hash browns or bread on top. Instead, I baked some Grands buttermilk biscuits and served the casserole on top of an open biscuit. Then topped the casserole with more peppered gravy that I made. I know it's not the healthiest dish, but I don't make it very often. You can splurge every once in awhile! And I make it for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Wife and I LOVED it. Made exactly as posted, only I had to cook ours for 45 minutes. Fantastic, great, and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was Yummy! I reserved my pan drippings from the sausage and used it to fry 1 chopped onion ( I didn't have green onions). I also substituted 1 - 32 oz pkg southern style hash browns instead of the bread. Make sure to fry these in the remaining drippings, and season well with salt and pepper. Works well to thaw sausage and potatoes the night before. This took a few more minutes to cook (50 total ), maybe because no bread to soak up the moisture? My family loved it! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I rarely comment on recipes, but I do read the reviews for hints on tweaking the recipe. We like our food on the spicy side. In the case of this recipe, I was HAPPY not to have hash browns on hand. There are a lot of good breakfast casseroles with hash browns, but I suggest going with the author and leave them out. The bread cubes toast up wonderfully. Awesome recipe..oh yeah...I did make a change in response to the spicy factor. We used chorizo instead of breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I don't use the bread or milk in this recipe. I use hashbrowns instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My family loved this casserole. I used three cubed hot dog buns in place of the bread. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I've made this twice, and my family loves it! I use Jimmy Dean hot sausage and a bit more green onions--maybe 3 versus the one. I skip the drizzled butter part and it comes out fine. I also found that you need to cook it longer than 40 minutes for the eggs to really set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Sato-Heitmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Absolutely Delish! I was in a hurry and didn't have hash browns so I ended up making this recipe as its with Sourdough Bread. I even put the cheese in the middle as directed, I wasn't sure about this, but it came out delicious! I'm glad I didn't have hash browns and that I followed directions exactly or I wouldn't have been able to see how good this recipe was is. Give it a try! I must say that the sourdough bread made it taste great! ENJOY! This fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauriestamps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I was looking for a new Christmas morning casserole and came across this one. Read all reviews and made some changes that were suggested and I even prepared it the night before. To my surprise it was a BIG hit. To the negative reviews..you must have done something wrong. I followed it and added chilies instead of the green onion for a little kick and OBrien potatoes on top, a little extra cheese on top while it set for 10 minutes. Did however have to cook it for an hour. Can't wait to try again with sage flavored sausage. Thank you all recipes you haven't failed me yet. Judy from PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States