Country Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 23)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This recipe is awesome!! The first time I tried it I tried it exactly as written. It was excellent and there were no left overs. The second time I tried it I didn't have enough bread so I used hash browns and was out of sausage so used bacon.It was again excellent. I love this recipe because it can be used with anything on hand and tastes good. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I loved this recipe. I made it today for our treats club at work. I took some suggestions from the reviews and used the shredded potatoes for the top and used a combo of spicy and mild Italian sausages. I also created a vegetarian one using the cubed potatoes and some additional salt and pepper to add some flavor. I had to cook this for probably about 40 minutes longer than the recipe said, but the result was worth it! The treats were gone faster than I had ever seen! I cooked the sausage the night before and mixing everything together in the morning went super fast. Love this recipe, I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
My kids are my best critics, even my 10 year old who doesn't like eggs. Her plate was empty,(I did use eggbeaters). Made this one for overnight guests and had limited time in the morning so I was a little leary of make it the morning of. I cooked the sausage the night before and had everything else ready. Cooked in a 9x13 so it would cook in time. It was a hit and the kids all said it deserves 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I have made this several times and it is a KEEPER!!!! My husband isn't a big sausage fan, so I added crumbled bacon to the sausage mixture and he loved it. It is the best breakfast casserole we have ever had. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I served this on Christmas morning, and we all enjoyed it. I honestly couldn't taste the gravy mix at all. I did offer hot sauce and diced green chili on the side for those who wanted added flavor. This is not my favorite breakfast casserole, but it was a nice one that I will serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Verry Yummy!! Instead of the bread slices I used almost a whole bag of homestyle potatoes sprinkled with seasoned salt & onion powder(small cubes - that I already cooked). I also used 2 pkgs of gravy mix and adjusted the water accordingly. My husband said this was the BEST b'fast casserole I have ever made! Thanks so much for this awesome casserole. I will be making this again soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
My husband and inlaws loved this as I made it Christmas Eve. morning. I would like to try it with hashbrowns on top too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this recipe Christmas morning. We didn't have sausage so I used bacon instead. It was a big hit but needed more. Everyone loved it! I Will have to double the recipe next year!! Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
My husband and son really liked this casserole. I liked it but thought I have had better breakfast casseroles. I made a couple of changes based on others' suggestions. I added about 1/4 c finely chopped onion and 1 T fresh minced garlic. I also increased the green onions to 3. I use 3/4 cup water and 3/4 cup milk and hashbrowns on the top rather than bread. I baked it as the recipe stated BUT it took nearly twice as long to bake. I think it might have cooked faster if I used a bigger pan making the casserole not as thick. I browned the top under the broiler before serving which added a little crunch to it. I think next time I would cook the potatoes in a fry pan first as someone suggested and then add them to the top about 1/2 way through the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I actually woke up at 5 in the morning to cook something for my husband. I prepared everything from the night before so it was way easier. I loved this recipe it was so good !!! And my husband loved it ! There was however way too much butter in the pan and it was really greasy. Using less melted butter will really make this the best !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 221-230 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States