Country Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
More of a cake than a bread, but very tasty and moist. I substituted apple sauce for a cup of the oil and added an extra teaspoon or so of vanilla, then scattered brown sugar on the top as soon as it came out of the oven to let that make a topping. Next time I may try some cinnamon sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
I have made this very quick Bananna Bread several times,always adding chopped pecans or walnuts to the recipe. Today I changed a bit and used a Devils Food cake mix, adding not only the chopped nuts but some chocolate chips, the results are even better than the orginal recipe, I believe ... The best of both worlds, Banana Nut Bread and Chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Use this recipe all the time. Use a spice cake mix and it will taste exactly like banana bread only lighter & fluffier. Only use 1 cup of oil. Add 1 tsp of vanilla. Chopped walnuts taste great with it too. Finally able to make a decent banana "bread" (actually more like cake), other recipes turned out like a heavy log. Try this one! Dress it up with a cream cheese frosting or serve it plain like a snack cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Thank you for this easy recipe! I made it in 2 loaf pans ... like banana bread! My husband, my teenage children and their friends loved it! It is definately more like cake than banana bread. Banana bread is much more dense ... the way I like it. I also only put in only 1 cup of oil and it did fine ... maybe 3/4 cup next time. I ended up baking the loafs for about 45-50 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
This is a PERFECT recipe for those times when you have a few banana around, and you know they are not going to get eaten. It's so easy to make this recipe, you will never throw another banana away! It's very rich and tasty. I can't get over how easy it is to make this, and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Super Quick Super Easy Super Delicious The name (Country? Bread?) is misleading. It should be called "Quick Banana Cake". There was NO WAY I was going to put 1 AND 1/3 cups oil into the mix. I put about 1/3 cup and that was plenty. I also added walnuts and/or pecans- about a cup to a cup and a half. Finally, I only cook the cake for 30 minutes. Before the cake has a chance to cool, it is gobbled up every time. I've made this several times now and everyone who has tried it absolutely RAVES about how good it is. Super Easy and Everyone Will Love You! It's also delicious if you use a chocolate cake mix as the base. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is good. I think the oil amount was an obvious mistake, so I used 1 c. water and 1/3 c. oil I also added about 1/2 c. of oat bran and 1/2 tsp. imitation rum. I put a crispy topping on of oatmeal, oat bran, butter, brown sugar, crushed almonds, and crushed banana chips. It's a fun idea for cake/bread, but the recipe should really be edited. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
AWFUL- waste of ingredients!! I was horrified right after I poured in all that oil- where was MY common sense?? WAY too much oil- I went with it- because how do you get it out after pouring it in- but it was just not right. Do NOT use all that oil- ughhhhh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
This quick, easy, and tasty recipe is good when your not in the mood to cook from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I have been using this recipe for over 2 years!I get a lot of praises when i bring to potlucks. Great holiday present too! Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States