Country Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 15, 2004
Tastes good, more like banana cake than bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
loved this recipe. easy and quick. not as dense as an every day banana bread but big on flavor. the whole family loved it. i used loaf pans and it made 2 loaves, added nuts to one. thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This recipe did not work. When I saw 1 AND 1/3 cups oil I thought "no", so I cut it to just under a cup of oil and added a few spoonfuls of applesauce. It didn't cook well (top is done, bottom isn't)and has a terrible oily feel and taste to it. My kids wouldn't eat it. I was really pulling for this recipe, too. I feel like I just wasted all those ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I have been using this recipe for over 2 years!I get a lot of praises when i bring to potlucks. Great holiday present too! Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I tried this tonight and this is one of the best and simplest way to make banana bread. My folks were visiting and they all loved. I would definetly keeping using this and would tell others to. Thanks Melissa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Great easy recipe. I usually dont like the after-taste of the cake mix, to many preservatives, but you could not taste them. Yummy!! I made a brown sugar struesel topping. Freezes wonderfully! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Like others, I made a few modifications. I used a banana cake mix, replaced the oil with 1 cup of apple sauce, added a half teaspoon of vanilla & 1 cup each of chocolate chips, raisins & walnuts. I baked it in 2 9x5 in. loaf pans for an hour, glazed it with powdered sugar mixed with water & sprinkled finely chopped walnuts on top. The results were wonderful. I'm definitely adding this recipe to my repetoire. Thanx Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Thank you for this easy recipe! I made it in 2 loaf pans ... like banana bread! My husband, my teenage children and their friends loved it! It is definately more like cake than banana bread. Banana bread is much more dense ... the way I like it. I also only put in only 1 cup of oil and it did fine ... maybe 3/4 cup next time. I ended up baking the loafs for about 45-50 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
This turned out like a very moist cake. It has a great flavor and was really easy to make. I added about a cup of chopped walnuts and was very happy with the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
I have made this very quick Bananna Bread several times,always adding chopped pecans or walnuts to the recipe. Today I changed a bit and used a Devils Food cake mix, adding not only the chopped nuts but some chocolate chips, the results are even better than the orginal recipe, I believe ... The best of both worlds, Banana Nut Bread and Chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States